I Have Landed 11/12 Cards For The Andre Dawson 2013 Panini Hometown Heroes Rainbow!!

I Have Landed 11/12 Cards For The Andre Dawson 2013 Panini Hometown Heroes Rainbow!!

Friends, I have been working on this little project for the last few months.  And while I am unable to officially call it ‘Complete’, I am able to show it off and be proud of the work that has been put in up to this point.

I really like what Panini did with this release in 2013.  The graphics have a sharp, vintage look – from the base set to the inserts.  And I was thrilled to find the name ‘Andre Dawson’ linked to many of them.

In total, Dawson appeared on 12 different cards in this issue.  To date, I have landed 12 of them.  Some were simple to obtain.  Some were very difficult.  And some were somewhere between the two.

But, ll were fun!  And I am ready to show them off – all 11 of them!

Ready?

Good.

Let’s do this…

For the base set, Dawson was featured as a member of the ‘Chicago’ franchise.  There is a base card, a gold-foil stamped State card, and a gold-foil stamped Zip Code card.

img100

Along with the base ‘Chicago’ cards, Dawson was also featured as a short-print as a member of the ‘Montreal’ franchise.  I was able to grab the base and State versions of the card rather quickly, but the Montreal ‘Zip Code’ card has been very elusive.  With no clue as to how many were produced, I have only seen one so far – and with a $20 price tag on Ebay, I am not yet ready to take the plunge to capture card 12 of 12.

img101

Andre was rightfully inserted into the ‘Nicknames’ subset as is celebrated as ‘Hawk’.  I love this – and the whole checklist is pretty neat.  There are three cards of Dawson in this subset – the base, the Black border, and the Gold border.

img102

And last, but not least, Andre was also inserted into the ‘Defining Moments’ subset.  The card celebrates one of Andre’s fantastic performances during his 1987 NL MVP-winning season.  In the game he connected for three home runs and 5 RBI.  And once again the cards are available in a base version, Black border version, and Gold version.

 

img104

YES!!  I love it.  All of it.

As I mentioned, this has been a lot of fun to put together and I am eager to get that pesky 12th card for my collection so I can call this rainbow complete.

But, until that time comes, I can still sit back and enjoy the 11 cards that I do have…

img100 img101 img102 img104

4 responses to “I Have Landed 11/12 Cards For The Andre Dawson 2013 Panini Hometown Heroes Rainbow!!

  1. Very cool. Hopefully you’ll find that Expos Zip Code card sooner… than later.

  2. Get that 12th card!! Can’t wait to see it in your collection!

Leave a Reply

