Introducing: “Ultimate Dawson: Project Program”

Introducing:  “Ultimate Dawson: Project Program”

I guess you can kind of call this a ‘covert operation’ as I have given out very few details about what I have been up to for the last few months .

It has been fun, and it has been challenging.  And, amazingly enough, it has been educational as well.

Let me explain – I have been slowly accumulating baseball programs.  But, they are not just any random baseball programs.  They are extremely specific, and they are centered around my favorite baseball subject – The Hawk, Andre Dawson.

My goal was simple – collect each and every All-Star Game program from the 8 All-Star Games that Andre was selected to play in.  The task of obtaining these programs was not as simple.  Many of these programs are 25+ years old and could very easily show signs of age, wear and tear, and general lack of care.

So, I took my time.  I was patient.  I stuck to a budget.  And I went to work.

And now, ‘Project Program’ is complete.

Here are all 8 All-Star Game programs from the games in which Andre Dawson was selected to be a participant in.

1981

ASG PROGRAM 1981

1982

ASG PROGRAM 1982

1983

ASG PROGRAM 1983

1987

ASG PROGRAM 1987

1988

ASG PROGRAM 1988

1989

ASG PROGRAM 1989

1990

ASG PROGRAM 1990

1991

ASG PROGRAM 1991

And there you have it.  8 beauties for my ‘Ultimate Dawson’ collection.

Originally, when I planned on taking on this challenge, I was going to get each one signed by Dawson with a unique inscription about that specific game.  I am on the fence about this now that I have all eight programs in my possession – some would look great signed like the 1981, 1983, and 1983.  And some would be very hard to work with, like the 1987 and 1991 issues.

For now, I will sit back and enjoy this very unique part of my collection that pays homage to the career of the player that shaped my love for the sport.

And who knows, maybe in time I will try to get each one of them signed!

Thanks for reading.

 

9 responses to “Introducing: “Ultimate Dawson: Project Program”

  1. Nice collection even without the Dawson connection. I bet you’ll get them signed eventually.

  2. Great collection. I love the older programs more then the ones that are sold today.

  3. That is an awesome Dawson project!!!

  4. Congrats! I’ve always loved your ideas on collecting!

Leave a Reply

