Happy Birthday ‘Sweet Swinging’ Billy Williams!!

Happy Birthday ‘Sweet Swinging’ Billy Williams!!

Billy Williams celebrates his 76th birthday today!!!

One of the most beloved Chicago Cubs of all-time, Williams was a fan favorite from his debut back in 1959 and is still a face of the franchise 55 years later. His charisma, talent, and devotion to the game and city of Chicago have kept Williams in the public eye more than 30 years after his retirement.

On a personal note, Billy Williams is a large reason as to why this blog exists. When his autobiographyhy came out a few years ago I knew I wanted a copy. That book triggered a domino effect that is still moving today. The book re-kindled my passion for baseball cards which led me to Fergie and Andre and Rickey and Dave. And all of that led me to ’30-Year Old Cardboard’.

Thank you Mr. Williams. I never got to see you play in person. I have met you one time. Yet you have impacted my life more than you will ever know.

Happy Birthday Billy Williams!!!

Williams Photo

2 responses to “Happy Birthday ‘Sweet Swinging’ Billy Williams!!

  1. A fine ballplayer indeed. Looking back to the 60′s, it might be said I was a “closet” Cub fan. They had some excellent talent that couldn’t find a winning way.

Leave a Reply

