Joe Morgan 2014 Topps Archives – Base

Joe Morgan 2014 Topps Archives – Base

I was pretty excited when I saw Joe Morgan’s name on the 2014 Topps Archives checklist when it came out a few months ago.  I knew that this would be a god chance for me to grab a few more cards of Morgan for my collection, and hopefully that would lead to me getting on a streak of hauling in some more cards of my favorite second baseman of all-time.

Morgan is featured in the 1980 Topps part of the Archives set.  The 1980 design is a ’30-YOC’ favorite, and I am happy to see that he was thrown into this section of the set.

Here is the card:

img420

 

I like it, but I wish that it offered us more action.  During his prime, Joe Morgan was one of the most talented players in the sport – there was nothing that he could not do either in the field, at the plate, or on the base paths.  It would have been nice if Topps had chosen an image for this card that featured in-game action versus a posed portrait.

Maybe next time…

2 responses to “Joe Morgan 2014 Topps Archives – Base

  1. in addition to using an action shot of Morgan to make this card better; the card should be a totally different design. Archives has only been around since 2012 and they’ve used the 1980 design twice already. Welcome to 2014 Topps.

Leave a Reply

