I Am Re-Committing Myself To The Roots Of ’30-Year Old Cardboard’

I Am Re-Committing Myself To The Roots Of ’30-Year Old Cardboard’

On Sunday night, I eluded to the fact that I was really starting to miss my favorite players from my youth – the ones that shaped my love for the game that has carried me, my collection, and this blog for many years.

I specifically detailed how I wish that I paid a little more attention to the guys that have left us early – like Tony Gwynn, Gary Carter, and Kirby Puckett.

Well, I am now ready to do something about it.  And in a major way.  I am going back to the roots of ’30-Year Old Cardboard!

After publishing that post on Sunday, I spent a few hours organizing my cards even deeper than I had before.  And for a very small handful of players, I expanded on my detailed player collection Excel spreadsheets to include every single card of them I own, just like I have done with my Dawson, Jenkins, Palmer, etc. collections.

This process confirmed to me that I can go after quite a bit more.  So, that is my plan.

I am digging deeper on some of the original player collections I built when I got back into collecting in 2008.  And in many cases, I am going back after the guys I originally built player collections of when I first got back into the hobby.  Absence certainly does make the heart grow fonder…

Have I added more cards of these guys since?  Sure, I have.  And they are now documented and accounted for.  But, in many cases, I limited my original collections of them to specific brands, years, and teams.  As an example, I restricted my collection of Dave Winfield to all major-brand baseball cards up to 1989.

Well, now I am opening the flood-gates.  I am going BIG!!

Get ready for a lot of vintage oddballs, limited edition cards, and super stuff from the 1980’s.

As for the player that I intend to highlight and showcase – the list is baseball royalty:  Rickey Henderson, Tony Gwynn, Dave Winfield, Wade Boggs, and Eddie Murray.

Here is a picture of my collection of these five HOF’ers as it stands tonight:

PC 1

And in the very near future, I am hoping that each of these rows will look a lot more full.

Buckle up everybody, it is going to be a fun, fun ride!!

Thanks for reading.

 

6 responses to “I Am Re-Committing Myself To The Roots Of ’30-Year Old Cardboard’

  1. Great idea!

  2. I’m really excited that you’re going back this way with your collection. Hope you add some early 90’s oddball stuff too as there is a lot out there. Maybe that last empty row should be for Cal Ripken… Just a thought.

  3. Love the idea – definitely some great baseball players.

Leave a Reply

