Incredible ‘Through The Mail’ Mail Day Courtesy Of Mr. Wade Boggs!!

Incredible ‘Through The Mail’ Mail Day Courtesy Of Mr. Wade Boggs!!

As soon as i decided to jump in and go after more baseball cards of Wade Boggs for my collection, the first thing I did was document each and every card I owned that featured him as the primary subject so I could get my ‘Boggs Checklist’ up to date and proceed with my expansion plans.

As I went through the cards I already owned, I saw that a few doubles had crept into the mix.  And they were all pretty good looking cards too.  My mind began to spin, and I started formulating my plan…

First, I went to a few of the sports autograph websites that I frequent to see if Boggs’ signing habits through the mail were still positive.  And as soon as I got that confirmation, I pulled three cards from my small stack of ‘doubles’, jotted a quick letter to Wade, and packed the cards up with a small cash donation and return self-addressed-stamped-envelope.

And off they went.

And just 2 1/2 weeks later, my three cards were returned to me and they are all signed beautifully in Blue Sharpie.

Have a look:

1988 Score – base

img783

1991 Score ‘Dream Team’ w/HOF 05 inscription

img785

2001 Fleer ‘Greats Of The Game’

img784

I told you that they were good looking cards!!!

And even better with that bright Blue Wade Boggs autograph scribbled on each one.

I am so thrilled that Boggs is still signing so generously for his fans.  I may try to grab a few more while I can – time to go back and see what other ‘doubles’ I have that may look just as nice as the above cards.

Which one do you like the best?  My pick is the 1988 Score card – the Blue really pops!!!

6 responses to “Incredible ‘Through The Mail’ Mail Day Courtesy Of Mr. Wade Boggs!!

  1. If Wade would have carefully signed at the bottom of the third one, ala, the certified version, I would have said that one but I’ll go with your choice.

  2. Wade’s a great signer. I sent a few to him early in the year and they came back fast and look awesome, including that same 2001 GOTG.
    http://remembertheastrodome.blogspot.com/2014/01/ttm-5-wade-boggs.html

    I’ve since found a few more cards of him that I thought would look great with a signature, so I’ll be writing him again soon.

Leave a comment