‘My First Time’ – Lance Berkman – July 16, 1999

‘My First Time’ – Lance Berkman – July 16, 1999

The setting – The Astrodome, Houston, Texas

From Berkman – “I could barely stand.  My knees were just weak, I was so nervous.  Justin Thompson was pitching, and the first two guys got on against him, so now I’m ready.  Obvious bunting situation, and I’m so zoned in, I didn’t realize that they’re trying to call me back to get a better bunter in there!  I kept walking into the batter’s box, they announced me, and Dierker figured, ‘Well, I’d better let him stay in there, and we’d better let him swing away; he’s going to be too nervous to get a bunt down.’  So, second pitch, I bang into a double play and kill the rally.  I ended up 0-for-my-first-10 and 2-for-my-first-21.’

The Boxscore – Astros 2, Tigers 1 in inter-league play.  Berkman goes 0-for-1.

One response to “‘My First Time’ – Lance Berkman – July 16, 1999

  1. St. Louis is glad to have him… he looks great. I think he’s going to do just fine come spring training. Hopefully Larussa wont ruin him… & lets him play a reasonable amount of games.
    I predict he tears the cover off the ball, ends the season w/ a .260 + average, 25 home runs, 60 or more RBI’s.
    Welcome Mr. Berkman!

Leave a comment