Daily Archives: February 10, 2012

Tony Gwynn 1983 Topps – ROOKIE CARD!!!

Tony Gwynn 1983 Topps – ROOKIE CARD!!!

It took me a lot longer than I expected it would, but I have finally landed a 1983 Topps Tony Gwynn rookie baseball card.  I don’t think that there would be any arguing that this card, is Gwynn’s most sought-after rookie card of the three.

The reason that it took me so long to finally land this card is simple – I shopped hard for it. 

First, I tried the ‘Best Offer’ option on Ebay.  I failed miserably with that effort – being turned down or ignored multiple times. 

From there, I played the waiting game, watching only the $0.99 auctions with hopes that one would fall into my lap that way.  That effort failed too.

So, then I hit the ‘Buy It Now’ option and brought one home.  I paid $8.00 which included FREE shipping (a $2-$3 value). 

And now I can finally say that ‘I own Tony Gwynn’s best card’. 

And that feels great!!!

Reggie Jackson 2000 Fleer Greats Of The Game

Reggie Jackson 2000 Fleer Greats Of The Game

I love the ‘Greats Of The Game’ series issued by Fleer in the early parts of the 2000’s.

And this version is one that I had never seen before.  And for a collector like me, that made it a ‘Must Have’!!!

Here is the card:

I am really enjoying the Gold frame that surrounds the picture of Reggie. 

And while my preference is to see photos of Reggie crushing pitches over outfield walls, I have always enjoyed shots of a player hanging out in the on-deck circle too.

NICE!!!

Did You Know…

Spud Chandler is the only New York Yankees pitcher to win a league MVP award.  In 1943, Chandler compiled a 20-4 record for the team with 20 complete games and 5 shutouts.  He had a league leading 1.64 ERA during the ’43 campaign.

Happy Birthday Lenny Dykstra!!

Happy Birthday Lenny Dykstra!!

Lenny Dykstra turns 49 years old today!!

As one of the grittiest players to play the game in the 1980’s and 90’s, you couldn’t help but enjoy watching Dykstra suit up each and every day.  With an unparalleled style, ‘Nails’ was the supreme competitor and often put his body on the line solely in the effort to help his team win. 

In 12 seasons in the big leagues, Dykstra had a career batting average of .285 while scoring 802 runs and stealing 285 bases.  His efforts assisted the New York Mets in winning the World Series in 1986.

Dykstra has fallen on some hard times in the last few years, but the strong and vibrant images of him enjoying and playing the game he loved are what remain with this fan!!

Happy Birthday ‘Nails’!!!

I Couldn’t Resist – I Bought A Few Packs Of 2012 Topps Too!!!

I Couldn’t Resist – I Bought A Few Packs Of 2012 Topps Too!!!

8 packs to be exact.

If you know me, you know that I am a very disciplined collector.  And for as much love as I give to finding bargains in quarter boxes, there is something about opening up a fresh pack of baseball cards that is not captured by any other aspect of the hobby.

So, while I have no interest in building this set of cards, I do enjoy ripping through some ‘wax’ every once in a while.

And after seeing how much fun everyone else was having,  I took the plunge.

Here are the highlights:

Rookies:

Gold & Sparkles:

Lots Of League Leaders:

2 minis of 2 of my favorites:

Golden Greats & Timeless Talents:

Golden Moments & Gold Standard:

And there you have it.  I have to say that I am quite impressed with the 2012 issue.  And I am even more impressed that after ripping through 8 packs of cards I received NO DOUBLES!!!!

Oh, and if you see something in the above mix that you need for a set, let me know.  Maybe we can work something out…

Thanks for reading.