Daily Archives: February 26, 2012

Who Wants To Play Fantasy Baseball With ’30-Year Old Cardboard’????

Who Wants To Play Fantasy Baseball With ’30-Year Old Cardboard’????

I am a big fan of fantasy baseball.  And while I don’t get too consumed with the ultra-competitive leagues that are out there, I find the idea of selecting my own roster and managing my players to be a fun one.

My platform of choice?  Yahoo Fantasy Baseball.

I have always joined public leagues and just caught on with a group of people who I do not know.  It has been fun, and I have done a decent job of placing in the ‘Top 3’ a handful of times.

I was contemplating about creating my own league this year, and wanted to see if the great readers of this blog had any interest in joining me.

If so, please let me know by leaving a comment on this post.  My preferred style of play is rotisserie, and I use the auto-draft versus live draft feature for selection of my players.

Each league consists of twelve players, so I am looking for eleven people to join me.  As soon as people start showing interest, I will email out the league name and password in a first come, first served basis.  I will cap the entries at eleven, and if more people wan to play I will either create a waiting list or if the demand warrants, it create another league.

Thanks for reading.  Now who is ready to ‘Play Ball’???

Fergie Jenkins 2005 Upper Deck Classics – GOLD

Fergie Jenkins 2005 Upper Deck Classics – GOLD

I’ll have to check my records, but I believe that this is the 3rd card of Fergie Jenkins from this set that I have obtained.  I know that I have the base card and the Silver version, so the Gold must be number three!!

Serial numbered as 105/199, I have always been a fan of this set.

My only request, and it is a minor one, would to have had a vintage photo of Fergie used for the card.  It is obvious to this fan that the picture used of Fergie is from his second stint with the Cubs.

Have a peek:

Not a complaint, just a preference….

Cal Ripken Jr. 2006 Upper Deck SP Legendary Cuts

Cal Ripken Jr. 2006 Upper Deck SP Legendary Cuts

Hey, another card of Cal for my collection. 

And even though this one is not a vintage gem, it is Cal, and I have very few of his cards.  So, each addition is a great one in this collector’s eyes!!!

The card comes from the 2006 Upper Deck SP Legendary Cuts set.  And the picture perfectly captures Cal right as he prepares to take a hack at the pitcher’s next offering.

Have a look:

For a player that packed a pretty solid punch at the plate, Cal has one of the more relaxed batting stances – you can see that there is no tension in his stance – that probably helped lead to his 3,184 hits, 603 doubles, and 431 home runs…

George Foster 1981 Donruss

George Foster 1981 Donruss

Well, you can tell that this photo was not taken on a sound-stage somewhere….  The lighting is horrible!

And you can absolutely tell that the picture was shot at the world famous Wrigley Field!!!

The photo came out pretty dark, so I am guessing that the photographer was not in the best place for shooting a picture of the Wrigley outfield.

Have a look:

6,000

6,000

Just taking a quick pause to celebrate the 6,000th post on this here baseball card blog.

The ride continues to thrill and we now look forward to #7,000!!

Stay tuned.  And as always, ‘Thanks for reading’!!!!

Did You Know…

Hall of Famer Ted Williams holds the record for reaching base in the most consecutive games.  Williams set the mark of 84 straight games in 1949.