Daily Archives: February 28, 2012

My Wade Boggs Player Collection Is Complete!!!!

My Wade Boggs Player Collection Is Complete!!!!

Friends, I am here to proudly announce that my Wade Boggs collection of baseball cards is complete.

When building this checklist, I was a bit overwhelmed by the volume of cards needed – and I was only going after Boggs’ cards from his playing days with the Red Sox.

Because Boggs was so dominant, he was included in a lot of sets, multiple times too.  And I think, now that the set is finished, that I have done a great job in honoring his time as a member of the Boston Red Sox.

Here is a look at the completed set:

And as always, next week I will show you my favorite five cards from the group in my daily ‘Fab Five’.  Please stay tuned for that!!

Also, if you think that I am done collecting Wade Boggs, think again.  Now that this set is complete, I will have more time to find some modern stuff of his – and I am guessing that there is a ton out there!!!

See you next Monday with my Wade Boggs ‘Fab Five’!!!  🙂

Jack Morris 2004 Topps All-Time Fan Favorites

Jack Morris 2004 Topps All-Time Fan Favorites

Jack Morris had a fantastic baseball career.  And with all of the hype that surrounded the young guns that debuted during the decade of the 1980’s, it was Morris that captured the most victories in the decade.

And his 1984 season was fantastic – I am very happy that Topps honored that season with his card from their 2004 All-Time Fan Favorites set!!

The numbers from 1984 – 19-11, 9 complete games, 1 shutout, 3.60 ERA in 240 innings pitched, 148 strikeouts, and a K:walk ratio of 3.3:1.  Morris was an All-Star in 1984 and helped lead the Detroit Tigers to the World Series championship!!!

Reggie Jackson 2007 Upper Deck SP Legendary Cuts

Reggie Jackson 2007 Upper Deck SP Legendary Cuts

I have a handful of baseball cards from this set – and they are all DARK!!!

Have a look:

I have to wonder if this card would look better if Upper Deck used a picture of Reggie is a White uniform, versus the darker Grey…

Hmmmm….

Jim Abbott 1990 Topps – All-Star Rookie

Jim Abbott 1990 Topps – All-Star Rookie

Gotta love the Topps All-Star Rookie trophy!!  And from the looks of it, the trophy in 1990 was ‘Super-Sized’!!!!

Abbott had an impressive rookie season, one that landed him on this prestigous squad. 

Of note was his 4 complete games and 5.7 strikeouts per nine innings – not bad for a rookie!!!

Did You Know…

No player has led the National League in home runs for three straight seasons since Mike Schmidt did it from 1974-1976.

Not McGwire, or Sosa, or Pujols, or Bonds, or Howard…