Remember That 1,200 Card Lot Of Andre Dawson That I Picked Up?? Check Out Some Interesting Things That I Found Inside…

Remember That 1,200 Card Lot Of Andre Dawson That I Picked Up??  Check Out Some Interesting Things That I Found Inside…

The organizing is done. 

The checklist is updated.

And the putting away is almost complete.

And as I started to go through my already large collection of Andre Dawson baseball cards to accommodate for the 1,200 new ones I have picked up, I found a few odd things that I wanted to share with you…

My process has a few OCD-esque elements – from the order of the cards, to the organization, to how I acknowledge unique cards versus doubles.  My process has worked well for me so far, and I have no desire to change how I get it done…

And with a keen eye, I ended up finding five more cards in this recently acquired lot of cards that I did not have logged into the official checklist that I maintain as new cards are obtained.

And all five of them are variations of cards I already owned…

Come see:

1994 Upper Deck Collector’s Choice – base card and Silver autographed version

1994 Stadium Club ‘Tale Of Two Players’ – Red logo in upper-right corner, Gold logo in upper-right corner, Red logo in lower-center

1991 Donruss – base card and border design variation

1991 Donruss All-Star – base card and border design variation

Kind of odd that I did not notice these cards were out there prior to obtaining this lot and having to go through everything I owned of ‘The Hawk’.

Of the five newly added cards to my checklist, I am most puzzled by the 1991 Donruss border variation cards – Does anybody know more about these and why there are two different versions of the border designs???

Thanks for reading!

8 responses to “Remember That 1,200 Card Lot Of Andre Dawson That I Picked Up?? Check Out Some Interesting Things That I Found Inside…

  1. It looks like the 1991 Donruss border variations are wax / factory set.

    See: http://www.oddball-mall.com/faq.htm#4

    Never knew that. Now I’m going to have to look at my Hershisers.

    Darn those pesky no good variations.

  2. Did you end up with a bunch of Dawson as a Red Sox doubles? If wo care to take a look through my want list and see if I need any of them?

  3. They are indeed border variations. Be sure to look for Donruss border variations in the 88, 89, and 90 sets as well.

  4. Pingback: Fernando VS Nolan – It Is NOT What You Think… | 30-Year Old Cardboard

  5. probably a canadian version and a u.s.a version maybe

Leave a Reply

