‘Greentown Cards’ Was Correct, I Found Three More Variations For My Andre Dawson Collection…

‘Greentown Cards’ Was Correct, I Found Three More Variations For My Andre Dawson Collection…

… and that means three more cards to add to my official checklist of cards that feature my favorite baseball player of all-time!

Very excited about this – and I am a little surprised that these have passed me by so many times before…

Anyway, here are the three Donruss border variations that I just found:

1988 Donruss – The most obvious of the trio – you can see that the border design is flip-flopped on these two cards.

1989 Donruss – Not as obvious, but if you look closely, the grading of the Blue and Purple as they blend into one another happens at two different points.

1990 Donruss – This was tough to spot initially.  But after really studying the confetti-esque borders, you can see that the card on the right does not have the same pattern of spots that the card on the left contains.

And there you have it – three new treasures uncovered right before your eyes!!

Thanks Jason.

9 responses to “‘Greentown Cards’ Was Correct, I Found Three More Variations For My Andre Dawson Collection…

  1. Ready to hate me even more?

    The 89 also comes in a lighter black bar and darker black bar variant version.

    The 90 has 2 different splatter patterns with INC and 3 different splatter patterns with INC.

    • Should clarify the INC without a period at the end and INC. with the period.

      Not 100% sure but it seems the INC/INC. thing happened with most Donruss sets into the 90’s.

  2. One more time and I promise I will leave you alone. :-p

    If you look right below the INC/INC. on the 89s you will see either *denote or *denote*.

    So you will have 2 INC, one with *denote and one with *denotes*. Same with the INC. version.

  3. Good gracious, now I’m going to have to check all my Dodger dupes from ’88 to ’91 Donruss. Ugh!

  4. Man you guys are trained observers!

Leave a Reply

