Daily Archives: March 3, 2012

Andre Dawson 2005 Donruss Classics ‘Stars Of Summer’ Game-Used Jersey Card

Andre Dawson 2005 Donruss Classics ‘Stars Of Summer’ Game-Used Jersey Card

Oh, yeah – another sweet relic card of Andre Dawson for the collection.

This Game-Used card is #102 of the collection.

Serial numbered as 205/250, I am loving the vintage Powder-Blue Expos Dawson is sporting in the photo that Donruss used for this issue.  His image really pops from the Brown background – if only that swatch was the same color….

Tony Oliva 2003 Topps All-Time Fan Favorites

Tony Oliva 2003 Topps All-Time Fan Favorites

Oliva had an incredible rookie season, and continued to excel from that point on.  Winning the Rookie of the Year award in 1964 with his 217 hits, 109 runs scored, and .323 batting average, Oliva was right at home playing major league baseball.  A skilled offensive player, Oliva was a great contact hitter and he collected 150 or more hits in 8 of his 15 years as a pro.  Oliva was a 8-time All-star, and he finished in the Top 10 for the MVP five times during his playing days.

That Topps All-Star Rookie Trophy looks great, huh??

Willie McCovey 2005 Upper Deck All-Star Classics – Legendary All-Stars

Willie McCovey 2005 Upper Deck All-Star Classics – Legendary All-Stars

I am very puzzled by the picture on the front of this baseball card. 

But before I get into that, I have to first state that ‘I love this card’!!!

Ok, now on to what puzzles me about the photo…

If you look in the background, you can see other players hanging around in front of the dugout.  And with the jersey that McCovey is sporting, I cannot recall when that design was unveiled by the Giants.

Am I safe to assume that this spot was taken during some kind of ‘Legends Game’???

What do you think??  I’m so used to modern-era card sporting vintage photos, so this one has thrown me for a loop…

Jim Palmer 2002 Topps American Pie – ‘Perseverance’

Jim Palmer 2002 Topps American Pie – ‘Perseverance’

It’s ‘Senior Picture Day’ at 30-Year Old Cardboard….

Dwight Gooden 1985 Fleer – ROOKIE CARD!!!

Dwight Gooden 1985 Fleer – ROOKIE CARD!!!

Oh yeah – now this is a great way to start my Saturday morning!!!

This card arrived in the mail last night, and I am brought right back to 1985!!!

So, today I will be listening to Madonna and Bryan Adams.  I will be wearing my Vans sneakers and jean jacket everywhere that I go.  And after the day is over and the kids have gone to bed, I am thinking about a double-feature – how does ‘Back To The Future’ and ‘The Goonies’ sound to you??

Who’s with me??

🙂