Daily Archives: March 4, 2012

Jim Palmer 2011 Topps Manufactured Patch – ‘THE BIRD’

Jim Palmer 2011 Topps Manufactured Patch – ‘THE BIRD’

I love the bird.  When talking about animals with my kids, and the subject of birds comes up, I tell them that my three favorite birds are Cardinals, Blue Jays, and Orioles.

I recently scored this card from the 2011 Topps set:

It features one of my favorite pitchers of all-time, and one of my favorite birds too!!!

Actually, I got two of them.  While shopping on Ebay, I saw that a seller was offering a lot of two for just four bucks.  So, I pounced.

And now I have two:

Hmmm…  I smell another giveaway coming up…  Stay tuned!!

Fergie Jenkins 2008 Donruss Threads Diamond Kings – SILVER

Fergie Jenkins 2008 Donruss Threads Diamond Kings – SILVER

Now we’re talking!!!

Another great addition to my Fergie Jenkins collection – and this one is serial numbered to just 250 copies.

This one happens to be #65 of 250.

What a beauty, huh??

I am really digging this one.  The yellow and tan background colors of the card’s design really allow for Fergie’s image to jump off of the card!

A terrific addition to my collection.  I really wish that Dawson was a part of this set – this card design and him in his Expos uniform would look great!!!

Lee Smith 2003 Topps All-Time Fan Favorites

Lee Smith 2003 Topps All-Time Fan Favorites

There was no way that I was going to let this one get by me.  Not this Lee Smith collector…

As I concentrate on some of my new PC’s, which includes all major brand cards of Lee Smith in a Cubs’ uniform, I try to stay as focused as possible.  So, for the set of cards I am building to honor Smith’s career with the Cubs, my goal is to only go after the cards that were issued during his playing days.

Well, I have failed in that quest.

Why?

Because I had to have this baseball card:

It’s Lee Smith.

It’s Chicago Cubs.

It’s 1983 Topps.

‘Nuff Said!!!

Kirby Puckett 1990 Donruss Baseball’s Best

Kirby Puckett 1990 Donruss Baseball’s Best

Was Kirby Puckett one of baseball’s best in 1990?  You bet he was!!!

Some of the numbers:  .298 batting average, 164 hits, 40 doubles, 3 triples, 12 home runs, 80 RBI, and 82 runs scored.

Lou Whitaker 2004 Topps All-Time Fan Favorites

Lou Whitaker 2004 Topps All-Time Fan Favorites

I just don’t know why Topps puts us through this…

During his 19-season career in the big leagues, Whitaker played in 2,308 regular season games.  In those contests, he handled 11,613 hit balls.

So, why on earth would Topps subject us to a posed photo of Whitaker fielding a grounder???

I just don’t get it…