Daily Archives: March 5, 2012

Signing Results – Al Leiter & Steve Garvey!!!

Signing Results – Al Leiter & Steve Garvey!!!

Way back in 2011, MLAM (Major League Alumni Marketing was holding a signing with more than 40 former stars.  And after perusing that list, I found three players to go after, affordably.

Well, two of the three players have done their deeds, and one remains unsigned.

I will unveil player #3 to you when it arrives back to me, but for now, I am happy to present to you the two baseballs that are now back in my collection.

Ball #1 – Former Florida Marlin, Al Leiter, with the no-hitter inscription that I was seeking:

Ball #2 was signed for me by Steve Garvey

Here is a picture:

And he too included my requested inscription:

And an added bonus inscription too:

Two great autographs for my collection – 1 of a player that enjoyed watching as a kid, and 1 of my favorite Marlins of all-time!!!

Thank you gentlemen, and thank you MLAM!!!

Jim Abbott 1991 Topps Stadium Club

Jim Abbott 1991 Topps Stadium Club

My favorite stat from Jim Abbott’s 1991 baseball season?

158

Abbott amassed 158 strikeouts during his 1991 season – a career high!!!

Atta Boy Jim!!!

1968 Topps Game – Mateo Alou

1968 Topps Game – Mateo Alou

Matty Alou played in the major leagues for 15 seasons.  He suited up for six teams during that time, and helped maintain the Alou name as one of the best family names in the sport.

In his 15 seasons, Alou was a 2-time All-Star and member of the 1972 Oakland A’s World Series championship winning team.

Alou’s career numbers include – .307 batting average, 1,777 hits, 236 doubles, 50 triples, 156 stolen bases, 427 RBI, and 780 runs scored.

Progress: 12/33

Wade Boggs ‘Fab Five’ – Card #5 – 1984 Topps

Wade Boggs ‘Fab Five’ – Card #5 – 1984 Topps

Now that my Wade Boggs collection is complete, it is time to show of my favorite five cards from the set.

Card #5 – 1984 Topps

Man, I had like 4 or 5 cards sitting in front of my all wanting the 5th and final spot in my ‘Fab Five’.  And while the top spot is surely the most coveted, it was the fifth spot that was the hardest to decide on.

Ultimately, I went with Boggs’ 1984 Topps baseball card.

I like the ’84 set for many reasons, most notably the clean lines and lack of catchy graphic elements.

This card also tells a great story.  At home at Fenway Park, and in front if a large crowd, it looks like Boggs has hit another one off the ‘Green Monster’.

Happy Birthday Kevin Brown!!

Happy Birthday Kevin Brown!!

Kevin Brown turns 47 years old today.

A 19-year veteran, Kevin Brown enjoyed a very solid major league baseball career as a starting pitcher.  A lifetime record of 211-144, equating to a win percentage of 59.4%, is strong considering some of the cellar-dwelling teams that Brown suited up for.

With dominant stuff on the mound, and very good health, Brown pitched 3,256 innings.  In that time, he compiled a 3.28 ERA while amassing 2,397 strikeouts.

Brown was an All-Star six times and finished in the Top 6 for the Cy Young award on five occasions.  He had one 20-win season with the Texas Rangers in 1992 when he went 21-11.

Kevin Brown is a member of the 1997 World Series Champion Florida Marlins!

Happy Birthday Mr. Brown!!