Daily Archives: March 7, 2012

My Al Leiter Collection Commemorating His ‘No-Hitter’ Is Now Complete!!!

My Al Leiter Collection Commemorating His ‘No-Hitter’ Is Now Complete!!!

I have stated it many times on this blog – the best sporting event I have ever been to was the game in which I saw Al Leiter throw a no-hitter!!  I have been to World Series games, NBA conference Finals, and some extremely exciting events during my time, but no game captured the ‘edge of your seat’ feeling like watching a no-hitter going down right in front of your eyes.

A few years ago I sent my ticket stub to Mr. Leiter along with a few cards in hope of nabbing a few autographs.

And then just last week, I got my baseball back from a signing he was doing in conjunction with the Major League Alumni Marketing team.

And now, my collection is complete – and it looks G-R-E-A-T!!!

Have a look:

Thank you for the memories, Mr. Leiter!!!

Wade Boggs ‘Fab Five’ – Card #3 – 1985 Donruss

Wade Boggs ‘Fab Five’ – Card #3 – 1985 Donruss

Now that my Wade Boggs collection is complete, it is time to show of my favorite five cards from the set.

Card #3 – 1985 Donruss

Take a look at the picture of Boggs that Donruss used on this card.  See that ‘blur’ in front of his right knee?  Yeah, that is the ball that was just hurled in his direction.

And Wade Boggs had such a keen eye at the plate, and such extreme plate discipline, that I bet he could call balls and strikes while batting.

In 1985, Boggs led the league with 758 plate appearances.  He struck out just 61 times while collecting 96 walks.  Boggs ended the ’85 campaign with a .450 on-base percentage!!

Lee Smith 1985 Donruss

Lee Smith 1985 Donruss

With all of the good looking people in baseball, Lee Smith hardly deserved the zoomed-in photo that Donruss supplied with their 1985 issue…  LOL

Happy Birthday Jeff Kent!!

Happy Birthday Jeff Kent!!

Jeff Kent turns 44 years old today.

Jeff Kent may go down as one of the most talented offensive second basemen in baseball history.  And his 2000 MVP season was sensational.  During that year, Kent hit .334 as he collected 196 hits.  He crushed 33 homers, drove in 125 runs, and scored 114 times.  He was a member of the All-star team that year and won the first of his four Silver Slugger trophies too.

Happy Birthday Mr. Kent!

Happy Birthday Joe Carter!!!

Happy Birthday Joe Carter!!!

World Series hero Joe Carter turns 52 years old today!!!

Carter’s tremendous home run that won the championship for the Toronto Blue Jays in 1993 still remains as one of the greatest plays I have ever witnessed in sports.  The moment that baseball fans around the world dreamed of is what Carter delivered – a walk-off game winning hit!!!  I cannot imagine the adrenaline rush that he felt as he rounded the bases while realizing this goal had been obtained.

I think it’s safe to say that Joe Carter jumped for joy for all of us on that night back in ’93.   I know that I kind of felt like I was flying in the air alongside him as the world watched.

Happy Birthday Mr. Carter.  And thanks for the amazing memories!!!