Daily Archives: March 11, 2012

Introducing ‘Ultimate Jenkins’

Introducing ‘Ultimate Jenkins’

Well friends, after unwrapping that baseball bat and Hall of Fame baseball a few weeks ago, I have had my Fergie Jenkins collection firmly on my mind.

So, I decided to mimic my Dawson collection by creating ‘Ultimate Jenkins’ – a place to house and host all of my great Fergie Jenkins stuff.  From signed items to commemorative pieces to baseball cards – one place to show it all off.

What are you waiting for, come check out ‘Ultimate Jenkins’ , I think you will like it!!!

Thank you for reading.

Johnny Bench 2011 Topps Marquee – Help Me Learn More About This Photo!!!!

Johnny Bench 2011 Topps Marquee – Help Me Learn More About This Photo!!!!

I have been scooping up some great modern-era cards of Johnny Bench over the last few months.

And this card, my newest find, certainly ranks near the top of that list.

The card is from the 2011 Topps Marquee set.

And it is a beauty.  Have a look:

The great thing about this card is that you know that there is some history behind the photo that was used.

Because the A’s and Reds only had a chance to meet in the World Series back in the 1970’s, we can easily say that the photo was taken during the Fall Classic.

And since Bench and his Reds teammates only played in one World Series match-up against the Oakland A’s, we also know that this photo was taken in 1972.

If you look closely at the background of the picture, you can see that the dugout is from the Oakland-Alameda County Coliseum.  That means that this photo was taken during either Game 3,4, or 5 from the 1972 World Series.

Can anyone out there get me any closer to when this photo was shot??  Game 3, 4, or 5?  What inning? 

Let’s see what you can come up with!!

Thanks!

Jim Palmer 1983 Topps All-Star Glossy Send-In – ‘Hello Ladies’

Jim Palmer 1983 Topps All-Star Glossy Send-In – ‘Hello Ladies’

I know that the majority of my readers are males.  And while I don’t cater to them with photos of women to keep their interest, sometimes you have to think outside of the box a little.

So, this one is for the ladies.  And I will use it as a recruitment tool to bring new female reader to ’30-YOC’.

‘HELLO LADIES’

Frank Robinson 2001 Toops Stars – ‘Spotlights’ – Ewwwww…..

Frank Robinson 2001 Toops Stars – ‘Spotlights’ – Ewwwww…..

I am the kind of collector that will happily accept any vintage or modern baseball cards into my collection if they feature a player that I really like and respect.

Mr. Frank Robinson fits into that category with ease.

But, every once in a while I scoop up a card that just doesn’t do the player any justice at all.

My friends, this is one of those times…

Come see: 

When I score new cards of Robinson, I have no preference if he is wearing his Reds or Orioles uniform.  But I do like action photos – for sure.

Sadly, this card offers up very little to get excited about.  Sure, it is Frank Robinson, and that does go a long way with me, but that is about it…

Kirby Puckett 1987 Fleer

Kirby Puckett 1987 Fleer

Wow, the coloring of this card looks pretty great, huh??

I know that I am digging it!!!

And I really like the photo that Fleer chose of Puckett too.  The 3-D effect that they gave the card with laying the player’s picture over the border really makes the image leap off of the background.

Great job Fleer!!!