Daily Archives: March 17, 2012

Wade Boggs 2006 Upper Deck SP ‘Baseball Chronology’ Game-Used Jersey Card

Wade Boggs 2006 Upper Deck SP ‘Baseball Chronology’ Game-Used Jersey Card

I have a very small stack of relic cards from this set issued by Upper Deck in 2006.

And each one of them works!!!

While a little busy, none of the graphics over-power the card or the picture of the player being featured.  Personally, I really like the frame that surrounds the swatch of Boggs’ jersey too – I admit it is a little much, but it gives the relic a sense of royalty too!

Here is the card:

The card honors Boggs as being the first player to collect more than 200 hits and 100 walks in four consecutive seasons.

A fantastic addition to my Wade Boggs collection!!!

Ron Santo 1993 Upper Deck Tri-Fold – ‘Hot Corner Hero’

Ron Santo 1993 Upper Deck Tri-Fold – ‘Hot Corner Hero’

I scooped up this card off of Ebay for the very low price of just $0.99.

I already have a Fergie Jenkins Cy Young card from the same set, so it was natural to want to add another one to my collection.

And the card looks great too!!

Have a look:

As you can see, there are three parts to this card.  I’m just trying to figure out which one I like the best…

The vintage Black and White photo of Santo looks great.  As does that very cool B.A.T. logo.  And then you have that vintage-insipred cigarette looking card of Santo on the far right – Awesome!!!

Fergie Jenkins 2004 Donruss Classics – Legend

Fergie Jenkins 2004 Donruss Classics – Legend

This card from the 2004 Donruss Classics set has several variations, including some very sweet looking autographs.

Of them all, this is my first, and it is the base card.  I will try to grab a few more of these as I come across them – I really like the look and feel of this set.  The framing around the player’s photo is very well done, and the ribbon effect adds a very nice graphic element to the card.

Yes!

Rickey Henderson 2010 Topps ‘Cards Your Mom Threw Out’

Rickey Henderson 2010 Topps ‘Cards Your Mom Threw Out’

Anytime that I can pick up a card that honors the legendary 1980 Topps Rickey Henderson rookie card I will do it.

So, I did.

This one comes from the 2010 Topps ‘Cards Your Mom Threw Out’ subset.  I believe that this is the 4th or 5th card that I have that honors Rickey’s rookie card from the 1980 Topps set.

Lucky for me, I have the original too!!!

Dwight Gooden 1986 Donruss

Dwight Gooden 1986 Donruss

What a photo!!!  You know that a 99-MPH heater is headed right for home plate when Gooden is reared back that far.  Good luck to that hitter!!!!

Gooden was superb in 1986!

My favorite stat from that ’86 season??  12!!

Gooden threw 12 complete games in 1986.  He won 17 games during the entire season, so that shows that when he was on, he was ready to go for the long haul.

Atta Boy Doc!!!

And The Winner Of The Wade Boggs Giveaway Is….

And The Winner Of The Wade Boggs Giveaway Is….

Q, also known as Quentin, and a longtime ’30-YOC’ reader!!

Congratulations Buddy.

Here is one more look at the prize:

And here is a look at the results provided by the randomizer:

I’d like to thank everyone for playing.

And my ‘Opening Day’ contest is just a few short weeks away – and trust me when I tell you that it will be a doozie!!!

Have a great day.

You Will Never Guess Who I Ran Into Tonight – Reginald Martinez Jackson!!!

You Will Never Guess Who I Ran Into Tonight – Reginald Martinez Jackson!!!

First, let me say ‘Thankfully, I have an IPhone’.

Then let me say, ‘Thankfully, I have a membership to www.signingshotline.com’.

Ok, here is how this all went down…

I was checking my emails on my phone when I saw that my nightly message from Signings Hotline had came through.  Since the kids still had a little more to eat on their plates, I accessed the site and did my usual search of that day’s newly announced appearances.

And that is when I saw that Reggie Jackson, yes ‘The Reggie Jackson’, was going to be doing a signing in Florida.

For FREE!!!

And just 15 minutes from my house!!!

Two minutes later my shoes were on my feet, and a ball, pen, and my camera were at my side.

I arrived at the event at 6:50, and Reggie was going to be there signing until 7:30.  By the time I got there, the line was down to just a few people and I was told that he would only be doing the promotional photo, not outside items.

I was fine with that, because it was ‘Reggie Freakin’ Jackson’!!!

So, I hopped in line and literally three minutes later, this was mine:

I thanked Reggie a few times for coming out to do this, and I told him that it was a true honor to meet him.  He said ‘Your Welcome’ then he smiled for a quick picture with me and I was on my way.

Here is the picture of me and Mr. October:

Very cool, huh???

I was home less than twenty minutes later and the kids are now getting ready for bed.

That sure was one heck of an hour!!!!

Thank you Reggie!!!