Daily Archives: March 21, 2012

My Dennis Eckersley Player Collection Is Complete!!!

My Dennis Eckersley Player Collection Is Complete!!!

Friends, I have done it again.  Another player collection is finished, my Dennis Eckersley collection is a wrap!!!

Putting this set of cards together was a lot of fun for several reasons.  First off, I got to learn a lot about Eckersley’s career, especially the early parts when he was a very successful starting pitcher.  On top of that, many of Eck’s cards and the photos used for them are very reminiscent of the era in which they were produced – and as you all know, I am a big fan of 1970s and 1980s baseball.  Lastly, Eckersley pitched for some of the most storied franchises in the sport, and any time you can read up and learn a little more about the Indians, Red Sox, Cubs, and A’s it is a fun day.

Here is a picture of the completed, and very large finished collection:

Pretty nice, huh??  This bad-boy contains over 100 cards of one of my favorite pitchers from the 1980s.

And I will continue to follow the path that I follow when a player collection is complete.  Starting next Monday, I will showcase my ‘Fab Five’ from this set for your viewing pleasure.  It will be hard to select just five cards, but I am up to the challenge.  The fun will start on Monday.

Thanks for reading.

Which Kimball Champions Carlton Fisk Card Do You Prefer – Red Sox OR White Sox???

Which Kimball Champions Carlton Fisk Card Do You Prefer – Red Sox OR White Sox???

I like them both as they both offer  agreat look at the past and remind me of those great logos of the 1970s and 1980s.

Let me show them both to you, and then I will cast my vote.

First, the Red Sox:

And now, the White Sox:

OK, and now my choice….

Drum roll, please…

Pause for dramatic effect…

THE WHITE SOX!!!!

Yep, I prefer the card of Fisk sporting his White Sox uniform in this little battle.

My choice was made for two main reasons – (1) I love that old ‘SOX’ logo (2) I have a lot more memories of watching Carlton Fish playing catcher for the White Sox than I do of him rounding the bases in his Red Sox uniform.

And while Fisk’s tenure with the Boston team may be a little more historic, for me the better looking card is the one of him with his White Sox uniform.

What about you??  Which one do you prefer??

Let me hear it.

Dwight Gooden 1985 Topps – ROOKIE CARD!!!

Dwight Gooden 1985 Topps – ROOKIE CARD!!!

Pretty limited color palate on this one, huh???

Still, the significance of this baseball card is mind-boggling.

More than 25 years ago, this card was an absolute ‘must-have’ for every collector of cards, young and old.

And all of us, in some way or another, was captivated by the impact that Dwight Eugene Gooden had on the baseball and baseball card collecting world in 1985.

As a kid in 1985, I had one of these.  And I cherished it.

Today, 27 years later, I have one in my collection again.  And I cherish it even more now.

Frank Robinson 2004 Upper Deck Team USA 25th Anniversary Baseball Card

Frank Robinson 2004 Upper Deck Team USA 25th Anniversary Baseball Card

I am a patriotic guy.  I enjoy wearing the Red, White, and Blue on the 4th of July.  And I cheer for my country during sport events like a good citizen should.

But, sometimes Team USA baseball cards fail.  Simply put, they are often over-done, over-the-top, and just too much.

However, every once in a while, I find a very sweet looking card that honors Team USA that looks great.

This is one of those cases.

Have a look:

 

See, it can be done.  No flashy graphics.  No bald eagles.  No fireworks.  Just beautiful colors, great imagery, and an awesome looking USA logo!!

Great work by Upper Deck on this one – Oh, Yeah!!!!

Happy Birthday Shawon Dunston!!!

Happy Birthday Shawon Dunston!!!

Shawon Dunston turns 49 years old.

One of the most likeable and recognizable faces in the Cubs’ dugout during the mid-to-late 1980’s. Shawon Dunston was a fan favorite in Chicago.

A highly skilled baseball player, Shawon Dunston enjoyed playing the game each and every day.  With a huge smile as proof, it was very hard to find another player that enjoyed taking the field more than Shawon.

Whether it was at the plate, with the fans celebrating him with the ‘Shawon-O-Meter’, or in the field when he routinely turned double plays or showed off his cannon of an arm while playing at short, Shawon was electric.

Dunston played 18 years in the majors – for 6 teams.  He is, and will always be a ‘Cubbie’ in my eyes!!!

Happy Birthday Mr. Dunston!!