Daily Archives: March 24, 2012

Fergie Jenkins 2011 Topps Boston Red Sox Commemorative Patch – ‘B’

Fergie Jenkins 2011 Topps Boston Red Sox Commemorative Patch – ‘B’

I said that I was not going to do it.

I told that you I was going to ‘take a pass’.

Friends, I am sorry.  I lied to you.  And I apologize.

I think I have a problem – I am uber-obsessed with adding new Fergie Jenkins cards to my collection that honors his Hall of Fame career.

And even while I find this baseball card not very impressive to view or hold, I cannot contain myself.  I have to keep building, keep adding, keep working to honor my favorite pitcher of all-time!!!

I hope you understand.  And please let me slide on this one.  Please.

Pretty Please?

Here is the card that did it:

It’s really not my fault… 😉

Andre Dawson 1983 Permagraphics

Andre Dawson 1983 Permagraphics

Another vintage sweetie for the Andre Dawson player collection – YES!!!

Check it out:

I already owned the 1981 Permagraphics card of ‘The Hawk’ so it was kind of neat to scoop up this one issued two years later.

Now the chase for the 1982 issue begins!!  Stay tuned.

Joe Morgan 2008 Upper Deck Masterpieces – What Is Joe Celebrating In This Photo??

Joe Morgan 2008 Upper Deck Masterpieces – What Is Joe Celebrating In This Photo??

I love this card.  It features one of my favorite players from the 1970s – Mr. Joe Morgan.

I thought we would have a little fun with this one…

First, let me show you the card:

Ok, now that you have had a good look at it, tell me what Joe Morgan is doing in this photo.

Your choices:

  1. pointing to his family in the stands
  2. pointing to the cloud-shaped dinosaur in the sky
  3. taunting the players in the opposing team’s dugout
  4. celebrating a home run

What do you think???

Billy Williams 1991 Sportflics Kellogg’s Corn Flakes Baseball Greats

Billy Williams 1991 Sportflics Kellogg’s Corn Flakes Baseball Greats

While not part of my official checklist, it is always fun to bring home a new (old) card of Billy Williams for my collection.

This card was issued by Kellogg’s in 1991 and was made by Sportflics.

It is too bad that the scan did not capture one of the single images that Sportflics used for this card as they are all pretty good.

Instead, you get to see a mix…

🙂

Lee Smith 1987 Donruss

Lee Smith 1987 Donruss

While not the biggest fan of the 1987 Donruss baseball card design, there are for worse Black-bordered baseball cards out there…

Smith was solid for the Cubs in 1987.  Making 62 appearances for the team, Smith captured 36 saves while pitching 83 innings.

1987 also marked Smith’s second selection to the All-Star team.