Daily Archives: October 8, 2012

Baseball Card Show Purchase #9 – Andre Dawson 2012 Topps Update ‘Golden Greats’

Baseball Card Show Purchase #9 – Andre Dawson 2012 Topps Update ‘Golden Greats’

I was very happy to find this card.  The Update set was released just a few days prior to the show and I was not sure if anyone would have these.

Sure enough, one dealer did and I found the Andre Dawson ‘Golden Greats’ card.

Here it is:

The card celebrates Andre’s walk-off home run on 8/8/1990 against the Cardinals.  The blast came in the bottom of the 15th inning with two outs.  This game-winning hit was the 20th and final game-winner of Dawson’s career.

Baseball Card Show Purchase #8 – The Coolest Dave Winfield Baseball Card Ever Made!!!

Baseball Card Show Purchase #8 – The Coolest Dave Winfield Baseball Card Ever Made!!!

Sometimes, a baseball cards needs no story; the card simply speaks for itself.

I firmly believe that this is one of those times:

1515/1999

Baseball Card Show Purchase #7 – Lot Of 7 1999 Topps Nolan Ryan Commemorative Edition Cards

Baseball Card Show Purchase #7 – Lot Of 7 1999 Topps Nolan Ryan Commemorative Edition Cards

The dealer with the fifty cents bins had 8-10 2-row boxes for me to go through.  I did not get through all of them, but for the ones that I did manage to shuffle through, I pulled out some sweet cards.

Including these seven cards of Hall of Famer, Nolan Ryan.

Have a look:

These cards come from a special Commemorative set issued by Topps in 1999.  The set is contains 27 total cards, and based on what I pulled, I believe that each card is a re-print of one of Ryan’s Topps base cards.

The seven cards that I bought represent Ryan’s 1981, 1982, 1984, 1985, 1987, 1990, and 1991 Topps cards.

And they all feature a sweet looking golden Nolan Ryan logo.

I tried to scan it, but it did not come out too well…

I think I have more of these in my collection; I will dig through this week and see if I can uncover any more of them.  If so, this may be the start of a new set at ’30-YOC’!!!!

Baseball Card Show Purchase #6 – Hank Aaron 2000 Topps Chrome ‘Magic Moments’

Baseball Card Show Purchase #6 – Hank Aaron 2000 Topps Chrome ‘Magic Moments’

There was no way that I was going to let this card get by me.  I was on the prowl for Hank Aaron cards all night long and when I found this one, I scooped it up.

The card is from the 2000 Topps Chrome set tagged as ‘Magic Moments’.  The card celebrates Aaron’s MVP season of 1957, the season in which Aaron elevated his game to legendary status!!!

Gotta love it!!!

Baseball Card Show Purchase #5 – Lot Of 3 SWEET Modern Joe Morgan Cards

Baseball Card Show Purchase #5 – Lot Of 3 SWEET Modern Joe Morgan Cards

I was at the card show for roughly 90 minutes.  And I probably spent 40-45 of it at one dealer’s table.

He usually has a great assortment of modern cards that feature the legends of the game.  Most of his stuff is split into two categories – 10-cent cards and 50-cent cards.

I pulled three Joe Morgan cards out of his fifty-cent bins.  And they are unreal!

Have a look:

From left to right:

2001 Topps ’50 Years of Topps’ Gold Framed 1981 Reprint.  Serial numbered as 835/2001.

2006 Upper Deck SP Legendary Cuts ‘When It Was A Game’.  This is the Gold version of the card and is serial numbered as 20/99.

2007 Upper Deck UD Premier Limited Edition.  This card is serial numbered as 3/99.

Not a bad way to spend $1.50!!!  I am loving that 1981 Topps reprint!!

Baseball Card Show Purchase #4 – Lot Of 3 1989 Randy Johnson ROOKIE Cards

Baseball Card Show Purchase #4 – Lot Of 3 1989 Randy Johnson ROOKIE Cards

These three cards were mixed in with another couple thousand cards with a sign that read 10 for $1.00.

I am glad that I stopped to check them out, because pulling out three Randy Johnson rookie cards from the 1989 Fleer and 1989 Topps Traded sets is a steal!!

These three pieces of cardboard set me back a cool thirty cents:

Yes, I was able to find more to help me round up to $1.00…  🙂

Baseball Card Show Purchase #3 – Reggie Jackson 2003 Fleer Flair Greats

Baseball Card Show Purchase #3 – Reggie Jackson 2003 Fleer Flair Greats

With this purchase, I am able to continue my streak of 31 straight days of Reggie Jackson baseball cards as we celebrate him all month-long in October.

The card comes from the 2003 Fleer Flair Greats set, and it was purchased for just a dime.

Here is the card:

I have a nice handful of cards from this set.  The set is beautiful and I wish that it got more attention as one of the better looking releases of the early 2000’s.

The vintage photo of Reggie is SWEET!!!!