Daily Archives: October 9, 2012

Dave Winfield 2012 Topps Commemorative Retired Number Patch

Dave Winfield 2012 Topps Commemorative Retired Number Patch

Manufactured or not, I love these cards.  I like the design, I like the prominence of the retired number, and I enjoy the vintage photography that accompanies and matches the patch.

My latest pick-up from the set is the Dave Winfield card.  I am really happy that Winfield was included on the checklist for this set.  That old Padres photo looks awesome next to the Brown and Yellow patch!

Take a look:

YES!!!!

Reggie Jackson 2002 Fleer ‘Fall Classic’

Reggie Jackson 2002 Fleer ‘Fall Classic’

There is no doubt that when discussing the postseason that Reggie Jackson’s name comes up.  One of the greatest performers in baseball’s postseason history, Reggie will forever be linked to his heroics in the 1977 World Series.

And the fact that he has five World Series rings certainly helps confirm his position as one of the great World Series competitors of all-time.

He has been included in the 2002 Fleer ‘Fall Classic’ set.  And rightfully so.

Here is the card:

Fergie Jenkins 2005 Playoff Absolute Memorabilia Tools Of The Trade – Red

Fergie Jenkins 2005 Playoff Absolute Memorabilia Tools Of The Trade – Red

The 2005 ‘Tools Of The Trade’ set is easily one of my favorites from the decade.  The cards are very well designed, and I like all of the different versions that accompanied each player, though it does get excessive at times.

This is my first card of Fergie Jenkins from the set.  I never really went after these with any real conviction as I prefer Fergie in his Cubs uniform.  But during a recent shopping spree with www.checkoutmycards.com, I stocked up on Jenkins, so I dropped this one in my cart.

The card is the Red version, and it is serial numbered as 207/250.

I already own a bunch of the Andre Dawson cards from this set.  And a few Jim Palmer cards too.  It was only right to nab this card of Fergie!!

Darryl Strawberry 2012 Topps Archives – 1986 Topps Design

Darryl Strawberry 2012 Topps Archives – 1986 Topps Design

As the 1986 baseball season unfolded, the New York Mets were being led by a strong mixture of veteran and young talent.  And that combination worked well enough to earn them their second World Series championship in team history.

On the side of youth was Darryl Strawberry.  And while his experience may not have been a match for the team’s veteran players, his offfense certainly was.

Strawberry was just 24 years old during the 1986 season, but he was talented enough to finish 2nd on the team in doubles, 2nd in triples, 1st in home runs, 2nd in RBI, 2nd in stolen bases, and 2nd in total bases.

Atta Boy Darryl!!!

Mike Schmidt 1984 Topps All-Star Baseball Card

Mike Schmidt 1984 Topps All-Star Baseball Card

By the time the 1984 All-Star Game came around, Mike Schmidt was a lock to be the third baseman for the NL team.  In ’84, Schmidt made his 9th All-Star team, and his 6th in a row.

Some of the fantastic numbers from Schmidt’s ’84 campaign that solidified his All-Star status would be:  36 home runs, 106 RBI, .919 OPS, and 154 OPS+.  He would be the NL league leader in all of these categories.

A very well deserved All-Star selection.

And a great addition to my Mike Schmidt collection too!

I Couldn’t Resist. I Scooped Up One More Blaster Of 2012 Topps Update. Come See The Haul!!!

I Couldn’t Resist. I Scooped Up One More Blaster Of 2012 Topps Update. Come See The Haul!!!

The title of this one says it all.   I was very encouraged by what I pulled a few days ago when I ripped through two retail blasters of 2012 Topps Update so I went for one more.

This time, I hit Target with the hopes of checking out the Red bordered cards.

Enough chit-chat, it is time to reveal the cards that I got in Box #3 of 2012 Topps Update.

Here we go:

Pack 1 – Not bad with Trout and Verlander in the same pack

Pack 2 – Eh.

Pack 3 – It’s cool to pull Buster Posey.  And you know that I am a fan of Frank Robinson!

Pack 4 – YU!

Pack 5 – The Kaline mini is pretty sweet!

Pack 6 – YU!  And I pull the Jim Palmer card too – YES!  Best pack so far.

Pack 7 – Nice Jeter.  Kind of weird pulling a baseball card of President Obama…  I’ll keep my personal political likes out of this, but it is weird to see him come out of a pack of cards…

Pack 8 – Eh.

Pack 9 – Sweet Strasburg!  And that Nolan Ryan card is pretty nice as well.

Pack 10 – Eh.

Pack 11 – A Johan Santana Blockbuster patch card.  Exactly what a Miami Marlins fan does NOT need in his collection.  Ugh…

And that is the full box.

Overall, I would say that I did better with the boxes that I picked up at Wal-Mart versus this one from Target.

Ultimately, most of these cards will not remain in my collection.  Many will be given to fellow trade partners and blog readers.  Some will be sold.  And the rest will remain with me.

If you see anything in here that you like, it can potentially be yours so let me hear it.

Thanks for reading!

Baseball Card Show Purchase #10 – Bryce Harper 2012 Topps Gypsy Queen Mini ROOKIE CARD

Baseball Card Show Purchase #10 – Bryce Harper 2012 Topps Gypsy Queen Mini ROOKIE CARD

I did quite a bit of searching for Bryce Harper cards at the show.  As a matter of fact, I did a complete lap of the show’s floor strictly seeking out cards of the rookie phenom.

My goal was to try to ‘steal’ a few.  And when I say ‘steal’ I mean secure them with bargain pricing, not actually steal them…

My search did not result in many bargains.  Most base cards had asking prices of $10 or more and the dealers were simply not willing to budge.  I cannot fault them; but I also cannot commit myself to forking obver $10 or more for a card that there are hundreds of thousands of either.

I did find one under $10.  It was $5.  And I bought it.

Here it is:

The 2012 Topps Gypsy Queen mini rookie card of Bryce Harper.

I am happy to have found one!!!