Daily Archives: October 12, 2012

Andre Dawson 2012 Topps Golden Moments Baseball Card – Topps Mini Exclusive!!!

Andre Dawson 2012 Topps Golden Moments Baseball Card – Topps Mini Exclusive!!!

It took me some time, but I finally brought this one home for my Andre Dawson player collection.

This set, the 2012 mini set, features cards that are just a little smaller than the standard baseball card size of 2 inches by 3 inches.  This set was only available to be purchased through Topps’ website – no stores, no hobby shops, and no card shows.

So, while it took a little but longer to haul in due to availability, I am happy to finally say that this card is mine.

Have a look:

Frank Robinson 2002 Topps Tribute – 500 Career Home Runs

Frank Robinson 2002 Topps Tribute – 500 Career Home Runs

You would think that a card honoring Frank Robinson’s 500th career home run would feature him swinging a bat.

Sadly, this is what we got instead:

I am not mad though, I love any and all Frank Robinson cards that I can bring into my collection.

I consider Robinson to be one of the most complete offensive talents in the sport’s history.  And his 500th home run was a momentous occasion.  If the card showed Robinson taking a mean hack, it would be just that much better…

🙂

Reggie Jackson 2003 Topps Retired Signature – The Top Five Things I Like About This Card

Reggie Jackson 2003 Topps Retired Signature – The Top Five Things I Like About This Card

The title of this post says it all.

First, I will show you the card:

And now on to the list, going from 5-1.

5. The inset cameo image reminds me a lot of the 1983 Topps design, a ’30-YOC’ favorite
4. The mustache – Reggie was the first player in the majors to display a mustache.  A true ground-breaker!
3. The sweet hat and helmet – I am a pretty big fan of the early 1970’s Oakland A’s teams.  The 2-tone hat is one that I have vivid memories of.
2. That old A’s logo – SWEET.
1. Batting cage card – I love any, and all, cards that have a batting cage as the back-drop.  Cages have come a long way since the 1970’s, but I am more than happy to find one on this card.

Thanks for reading.

Eric Davis 1989 Donruss Baseball’s Best

Eric Davis 1989 Donruss Baseball’s Best

Eric Davis was one of the most dynamic outfielders in baseball during the late 1980’s.  His versatile game featured speed, power, and touch.

Davis certainly belonged in any set tagged as ‘Baseballs Best’ that was produced between 1987-1990.

And if you ask enough people, many think that he could have been a 2-time MVP during that stretch too.

1982 HEADLINE: Paul Molitor Sets Record With 5 Hits In World Series Game

1982 HEADLINE: Paul Molitor Sets Record With 5 Hits In World Series Game

On this day in 1982, Paul Molitor collected the first 5-hit game in World Series history!!!

In Game 1, and on the road in St. Louis, Molitor did everything possible to help put his Brewers in the best position to win.

His box score looking something like this – 6 at bats, 5 hits, 2 RBI, 1 run scored.  And most importantly, the Brewers won the game 10-0.

Happy Anniversary Mr. Molitor!!!

An Incredible Mail Day – Four New Signed Photos For The ‘Ultimate Dawson’ Collection!!!

An Incredible Mail Day – Four New Signed Photos For The ‘Ultimate Dawson’ Collection!!!

My most recent shi.pment to Andre Dawson has returned home.  And I am left speechless.

Andre really hooked me up.  And I am left with four great additions to my signed photograph collection of ‘The Hawk’.

Now it is time to show them off!!!

Let’s go:

A great photo, with very vivid coloring.  I am loving that Wrigley is the backdrop.

Nice.  As you can see, with the lift of the front foot, Dawson was preparing to drive the ball – Hard!!  The 8x All-Star inscription make this one ever better!!

I’ve been wanting to add a signed Marlins photo to my collection, and I think that my image selection was solid.  The 8x Gold Glove inscription works very well with the image choice.

Ah, the Hall of Fame plaque with the Hall of Famer.  Obviously, this picture was taken at Andre’s Hall of Fame induction ceremony.  My wife said that Andre looked ‘presidential’ that day, and I could not agree more.

Four unreal additions to my collection.  Four more photos for the ‘Ultimate Dawson’ collector.

And I am hungry for more!!!!