Daily Archives: October 14, 2012

’30-YOC Top Ten Lists’ – Top Ten ‘In-Set’ Subsets From The 1980s

’30-YOC Top Ten Lists’ – Top Ten ‘In-Set’ Subsets From The 1980s

You know me.  I’m a player collector.

But I also have an affinity for baseball card subsets – the smallish multi-card sets that are part of a larger set that tend to share a common theme.

I’ve put together more than a dozen subsets over the last few years, and I have plans to continue down that path.

And when deciding which sets are good candidates for collecting, I tend to go with ones that commemorate baseball history and player achievements.

What I find great about these subsets, is that just like other aspects of baseball card collecting – some collectors agree with my likes, and some do not.  And I am ok with that.

I thought it would be fun to showcase my favorite in-set subsets from the 1980’s.  If you collected during that time, or collect those cards now, I am fairly certain that you either have or want cards from these sets.

Are you ready?

Let’s go!!

Honorable Mention – Donruss MVP’s, Team USA, Father And Son, Glossy All-Stars, Turn Back The Clock

10 – Diamond Kings.  I am not a huge fan of the Diamond King, but I definitely respect its place in our hobby’s history.

9 – Future Stars.  A short-lived subset, this one offered us some classic cards!

8 – All-Star Rookie Team.  These have been issued since the 1960’s by Topps.  I am happy to see that this annual tradition continues today.

7 – Highlights.  Always nice to go back and re-capture the prior year’s greatest moments.

6 – In Action.  A player collector’s dream – the ‘In Action’ set gave you one more card of usually the best players in the sport.

 

5 – Team Leaders.  Always nice to see who the most productive players were on an annual basis.

4 – Record Breakers.  Truly underrated, the ‘Record Breakers’ subset told the story of the greatest headlines from the prior season.

3 – Superstar Special.  Oh man, the pairing of players that Fleer set up for these cards was fantastic.  I wish that this tradition lasted longer…

2 – Rated Rookie.  If you were a stud rookie, you landed in this subset.  And if you excelled, it was your ‘Rated Rookie’ card that collector’s craved!

1 – Super Veteran.  Just a fantastic way to celebrate the history of the sport, one player at a time.  I would love to see Topps bring this back in some fashion or another.  I could think of 20 players pretty easily that would make for an outstanding 2013 Super Veterans subset.

And there you have it – my favorite subsets that were issued as part of 1980’s baseball card sets.

Did I miss any that you really liked?  Are you not pleased with my rankings?  Let me hear it!!!

Jim Palmer 2012 Topps Allen & Ginter – Base

Jim Palmer 2012 Topps Allen & Ginter – Base

I’ve been slacking a bit on my Jim Palmer collection so it is time to correct that and get more aggressive.

Palmer has been included in a lot of releases from 2010-2012, and I don’t think that I have nabbed more than 30-40% of them.

I will change that and start stocking up.

Here is Palmer’s base card from this year’s Topps Allen & Ginter set.

SWEET!!!

Reggie Jackson 2007 Upper Deck Goudey ‘Heads-Up’

Reggie Jackson 2007 Upper Deck Goudey ‘Heads-Up’

This is the third card from this set that I have picked up.  The first card was of Brooks Robinson, and then I got the Johnny Bench card.

And now, Reggie Jackson!

I love these cards – they offer just the right amount of cartoon and real photography.  And while I don’t know what came first – the picture of the face or the artwork of the body, they seem to always be perfect complimentary pieces.

I’m happy to see Reggie featured as a New York Yankee on this card.  And I am especially happy to see him wearing his prescription sunglasses too!

Have a look:

George Brett 2002 Fleer ‘Fall Classic’

George Brett 2002 Fleer ‘Fall Classic’

George Brett competed in two World Series match-ups during his Hall of Fame career.  Winning one title, and losing another, Brett’s play during World Series competition is legendary.

In 13 games played, Brett compiled a batting average of .373.  He had 19 hits in 51 at-bats, including 3 doubles, 1 triple, and 1 home run.  Brett scored 8 runs in the 13 games, while also driving in 4.

Brett fittingly belongs in the ‘Fall Classic’ set issued by Fleer in 2002.

Rollie Fingers 1986 Donruss

Rollie Fingers 1986 Donruss

I am really not a fan of the 1986 Donruss baseball card design.  As a matter of fact, it would probably rank in my bottom 10 of baseball card designs released during the 1980’s.

For me, I just don’t like the horizontal striping that serves as the background of the card.  And the addition of a diagonally-cut frame around the image used on the card just makes it more confusing to look at.

Thankfully, the image of Rollie Fingers saves the card.  The mustache helps; it always does.  And with this card, you also get to see the great Brewers logo on Fingers’ cap as well as the sweet script name of Milwaukee on the front of his jersey.

NICE!!!