Daily Archives: October 18, 2012

Reggie Jackson 2011 Topps Tier One Game-Used Jersey Card

Reggie Jackson 2011 Topps Tier One Game-Used Jersey Card

This card could easily be the best looking relic card in my Reggie Jackson collection.  Heck, it could be the best looking relic card in my entire collection.

Topps’ Tier One product is a sharp looking set.  The cards are super crisp and feature some great design elements.

And then you add a piece of Game-Used jersey to the card and viola…

B-E-A-U-T-Y!!!!

And it is serial numbered as 389/399.

 

Fergie Jenkins 2005 Playoff Absolute Memorabilia Tools Of The Trade – Blue

Fergie Jenkins 2005 Playoff Absolute Memorabilia Tools Of The Trade – Blue

I showed you the ‘Red’ version of this card that I bought two weeks ago.

Well, I also nabbed the ‘Blue’.

And she is numbered as 52/150.

Have a look:

Man, I wish that Fergie was wearing a Cubs uniform on these cards….

Sigh.

2010 Topps Heritage ‘Core Four’ Starring Pettitte, Posada, Jeter, and Rivera

2010 Topps Heritage ‘Core Four’ Starring Pettitte, Posada, Jeter, and Rivera

In November of 2009, I wrote a post on this blog titled ‘Ranking The Yankees Core Four’.  You can read that here.

This card of the ‘Core Four’ came out a year later as part of the 2012 Topps Heritage set.

 

And now, almost three seasons later, a lot has changed.

Posada has retired.

Pettitte has retired.  And un-retired.

Rivera suffered a crippling injury and is doing rehab with the hopes of a 2013 comeback.

Jeter has gotten better.  Much better!

So, after reviewing my original story, I know that my rankings of 3 and 4 would not change.  But as for the #1 spot, it is hard to not re-think that.  Jeter has been on a tear since capturing his 3,000th hit and his legend only continues to grow.  And sadly, Mariano Rivera has been unable to compete.

I may have to officially switch 1 & 2.

What do you think??

Eric Davis 1987 Donruss Diamond Kings

Eric Davis 1987 Donruss Diamond Kings

In my opinion, this one of the very few 1987 Diamond Kings cards in which the portrait really looks the player.

Some are unmistakable, like this card of Eric Davis.  And some leave you wondering ‘who in the hell is that’? 

1977 HEADLINE: Reggie Jackson Steals The Show In Game 6 With Three Home Runs!!!

1977 HEADLINE: Reggie Jackson Steals The Show In Game 6 With Three Home Runs!!!

On this day in 1997, Reggie Jackson took the baseball world for a ride when he connected for three home runs, in three consecutive at-bats, with each homer coming on the first pitch that came his way.

And the three pitches came from three different pitchers!

Jackson and his Yankees teammates were leading the 1977 World Series 3 games to 2 games, when Reggie stole the show and single-handidly clinched the championship for the Yankees.

This performance is considered to be one of the most dynamic and legendary moments in the history of the game.

Mr. October was born on 10/18/1977!!

Happy Birthday Reggie!!!

The Newest Baseball Card In My Collection Is Now The Oldest Baseball Card In My Collection!!!

The Newest Baseball Card In My Collection Is Now The Oldest Baseball Card In My Collection!!!

I have been collecting long enough to know that I could have hauled in an older card by now.  Sure, I could probably have had a card from the 1930s, 1940s, or 1950s in my collection for some time.

But that is not the kind of collector that I am.  I am a player collector, and I try to remain as focused on my player collections as I can.

But there are some players that I like to go after that are not officially in my player collector profile.  And if you are a reader of this blog, you probably know some of the names – Hank Aaron, Frank Robinson, Reggie Jackson, Pete Rose – you know, baseball royalty.

But this card, my newest and oldest card, is not of those guys.

Instead, it is of a baseball legend that made his fame in the dugout rather than on the field.  He played on the field, just not well enough to last very long…

My friends, this is the oldest card in my collection:

A 1959 Topps George “Sparky” Anderson rookie baseball card.

Sparky is one of my favorite managers of all-time.  He managed my favorite baseball dynasty during their World Series run in the 1970’s.

I have wanted to find more ways to honor his life in baseball, and I believe that this is a perfect way to do that.

I am so happy to finally have this card in my collection.  It may be the start I needed to add another player to my PC roster.

🙂