Daily Archives: October 29, 2012

Reggie Jackson 2012 Topps Archives – 1974 Gold Stamped Reprint

Reggie Jackson 2012 Topps Archives – 1974 Gold Stamped Reprint

Man, I am telling you that these 2012 Topps Archives reprints are right up my alley.

I love all of them – and I think that I want all of them too!

My latest addition from that set features Reggie Jackson and the 1974 Topps design.  The card’s coloring is perfect, and I love the shot that the photographer has given us.

Have a look: 

And yes, I really like Reggie’s Green stirrups too!!

🙂

Dale Murphy 2011 Topps – ’60 Years Of Topps’ – 60YOT Back

Dale Murphy 2011 Topps – ’60 Years Of Topps’ – 60YOT Back

It has been way too long since I featured a baseball card of Dale Murphy on this blog – 5 months to be precise.

So, let’s jump right into this one.  It is from the 2011 Topps set, and it comes from their ’60 Years Of Topps’ subset.  The card is a reprint of Murphy’s 1988 Topps base card, and it has the standard ’60 Years Of Topps’ back.

Have a look:

 

I like the set.  I like it a lot!

I just wonder how they chose which player was used for which year’s reprint.  Sure Murphy belongs, but it seems more fitting to include him in 1982 or 1983 versus 1988.  For 1988, I would have gone with Orel Hershiser or Jose Canseco.

Still, a great looking card and a nice addition to my Dale Murphy collection.

Eric Davis 1987 Topps

Eric Davis 1987 Topps

Talk about a classic baseball card, right here.  I pulled so many of these 1987 Topps cards of Eric Davis back in the day, just seeing this card takes me back to being a 12-year old collector.

I had pages and pages of these cards – and they looked fantastic when all 9 sleeves in the page featured the same card. 

Especially this one of ‘Eric The Red’!!!

Happy Birthday Fred Lynn!!!

Happy Birthday Fred Lynn!!!

Fred Lynn turns 61 years old today.

I have always had an affinity for Fred Lynn.  He broke onto the baseball scene in 1975 and took the sport by storm.  He did this during the year of my birth, and I have always enjoyed learning more about things that happened in 1975!!

Fred Lynn quietly put together a very solid 17-season career as a professional baseball player.  It’s amazing that someone playing for some of baseball’s most popular teams(The Red Sox and Orioles) could stay under the radar but Lynn was able to do so.  While media and fan attention went to his teammates, Lynn contributed solidly.  During his first full season in the major leagues in 1975, Fred Lynn won the Rookie of the Year award as well as the Most Valuable Player award.  Not too shabby, for a rookie huh???  I’d say that it’s rather impressive!!!

Happy Birthday Mr. Lynn!!

If Topps Decided To Bring Back Their ‘Super Veterans’ Subset In 2013 For the 30th Anniversary, Who Should Be On The Checklist??

If Topps Decided To Bring Back Their ‘Super Veterans’ Subset In 2013 For the 30th Anniversary, Who Should Be On The Checklist??

The Super Veterans set that was part of the 1983 Topps baseball card set is my favorite in-set subset of all-time.

It was the first subset that I built when returning to the hobby a few years ago, and I think that it can hold up when compared to any/all in-set subsets issued during the 1980’s.

2013 marks the 30th anniversary of the ‘Super Veterans’ set and nothing would make this collector happier than to see Topps pay homage to their roots and give us another version of the same set.  Maybe in their base set?  Maybe in Archives?  Either way, I would love to see it done.

Now, that opens up the question of who belongs in the set.

So, I thought it would be fun to try to build a checklist with the great readers of this blog.

To keep it open to as many opinions as possible, but to limit the number of cards in the set, let’s say for argument’s sake that the set is to contain 20 players.

Sound good to you??

Great!!  I’ll start the checklist by adding two players: Jim Thome and Mariano Rivera.

Who else should be added?  Let me hear it!!

And just in case you need a little inspiration, here is a look at the first subset that I completed when I got back into the hobby: