Baseball Card Show Purchase #11 – Billy Ripken 1989 Fleer ‘F*CK FACE’ Card – The Real Deal!!!

Baseball Card Show Purchase #11 – Billy Ripken 1989 Fleer ‘F*CK FACE’ Card – The Real Deal!!!

With the purchase of this baseball card, I am able to scratch another one off of my ‘Top Ten Cards I Want To Add To My Collection List’.

This card had so much hype surrouding it in 1989 – I would have to say that for a non-rookie baseball card, this card is easily the most talked about card from my youth.

As a kid, I never had one of these.  I had seen tons of them, and their various ‘blacked out’ versions, but these things all cost a pretty penny back in the day, with some of them easily surpassing the $100.00 price point.

While at the show, I saw two of them.  One dealer was asking $10 and the other was asking $8.  With the help of another dealer, and the show’s top promoter, we were able to talk the dealer asking for $8 down to $5.00.

And then it was my turn to hand over a $5.00 bill.

Have a look:

SHOW 11

I have wanted this card for a very long time.  And to be honest, I am really not interested in any of the other versions.  This is the one that I wanted, and I am really happy to have this very popular and highly-collected piece of cardboard from my childhood back in my collection.

YES!!!

14 responses to “Baseball Card Show Purchase #11 – Billy Ripken 1989 Fleer ‘F*CK FACE’ Card – The Real Deal!!!

  1. I’ve always wanted that card too – good get!

  2. Anytime you can add that card to your collection it was a good day!

  3. Nice! Always loved that card.

  4. Ron Churchwell

    This card brings back many memories for me but for a totally different reason then most people. My favorite comic shop at the time, was just starting to diversify and sell sports cards, and I was there 1 day selling them sets of 1986 Topps to help build up their inventory. While I was there a man came in and asked for the freshly printed boxes of 1989 Fleer. The shop owner pulled out the boxes they had, and this guy promptly reached in to each box in the same spot and pulled out the two packs from each box that contained the Ripken error card. The owner and I were shocked and he showed us how to do it. I then proceeded to spend the summer buying packs with that card in it. At the time the card was going between $100 and $150 and there was even an article in the USA Today newspaper about it. I placed an ad in the local paper and sold about 10 of them which I then turned into cases of 1989 proset football and 89/90 Fleer basketball, along with numerous baseball cards. I will forever be grateful To Fleer and Ripken for helping me expand my collection in such a dramatic way.

  5. Nice. I have one that I found in a full box in 89. It’s way cool to have one

Leave a Reply

