Cal Ripken Jr’s Iconic 1982 Topps TRADED Baseball Card

Cal Ripken Jr’s Iconic 1982 Topps TRADED Baseball Card

Normally, it is the first card that the collector seeks – the player’s debut in the hobby.

But, the most sought after Cal Ripken card from his playing days is actually his second Topps baseball card, the one in the 1982 Traded set.

Yes, Ripken has a rookie card in the base set that was issued in 1982.  And that card is a 3-player card that features two other rookies from the Baltimore Orioles.  While this card still carries a respectable price tag, it is not held in as high regard as the one from the Traded set that was issued later in the year.

This one features just Ripken, and if you are an Orioles collector or Cal Ripken, Jr. collector, this card is an absolute ‘MUST HAVE’.

Check it out:

Ripken Traded

I’ve got to make obtaining this card a mission – I need one of these for my own collection!!!

6 responses to “Cal Ripken Jr’s Iconic 1982 Topps TRADED Baseball Card

  1. One of the better investments I ever made was buying 9 of these and a factory set back in the early 1990’s. LOVE THIS CARD!!!

  2. I bought several of those traded sets in the early 80’s for $12 each, sold most of them but I have 5 or 6 left, all factory sealed. I have bought at least 10 singles of that card and they are in my player collection. The most I ever gave for a single was $40-ish in the later 80’s. I’ll never let these go.

Leave a Reply

