1969 HEADLINE: Today Is ‘Billy Williams Day’!!!!

1969 HEADLINE: Today Is ‘Billy Williams Day’!!!!

While an event of this caliber is usually reserved for a player in his final year or final home stand as a member of the home team, I guess that the Cubs organization thought so much of Mr. Williams that they chose this day to honor him.

So, 45 years later I will carry on this tradition. Today, I will celebrate the main player that brought me back to the hobby of collecting baseball cards – ‘Sweet Swinging Billy Williams’!!

The below pin was handed out to all in attendance at Wrigley back on June 29, 1969.

One response to “1969 HEADLINE: Today Is ‘Billy Williams Day’!!!!

  1. Richard Gorny

    Looking for June 29, 1969 Chicago Cub game photos; especially crowd shots in background. It was a doubleheader against the Cardinals. Billy Williamd Day at Wrigley-Chicago.

    I was in the crowd at 10 years of age with my dad. I believe I found one B&W photo looking in the stands on the 3rd base side with me in the stands. But grainy….still amazing!

    Please advise. If you don t have any, please let me know where else I can go!!!

    Thank you.

    Richard-Chicago

Leave a Reply

