Ozzie Smith 2014 Topps Archives – Base

Ozzie Smith 2014 Topps Archives – Base

After ripping through my shipment of cards from the new Topps Archives release last night, I quickly scanned the card of Ken Griffey Jr. and showed it off on the blog.

Well, fast forward 20 or so hours and I have scanned the remaining cards from that bulk purchase and I will do my best to show them off to you in the coming weeks.

Here is the card of Ozzie Smith that I picked up.

2014 archives ozzie smith

It’s always great to see Ozzie featured in modern baseball card sets, and I have never seen this image used before (though that does not mean it has not been used prior).

The picture of ‘The Wizard’ looks like one from the end of his career.  And while I know that I should not be too picky when reviewing and analyzing new baseball card releases, I do wish that Topps did a better job of finding images that work a bit better with the period of the design being used.  If that means a young image of Ozzie in his San Diego Padres uniform, I am OK with that!

Leave a Reply

