Baseball Card Show Purchase #8 – Box Of 1988 Score Baseball Cards – YESSIR!!!

Baseball Card Show Purchase #8 – Box Of 1988 Score Baseball Cards – YESSIR!!!

The same seller with the Marlins goodies and assorted bargain bins had a full table of vintage wax.  And the table was loaded.

I must have walked by his display three or four times before I finally decided to really look and see what he had.

I’ve bought 1980’s wax boxes at card shows in the past, but it has been a while.  And since I have not ripped any modern wax since the Series 1 release of the 2014 Topps set, my desire to tear into some baseball card packs has been building.

So, I checked out his assortment and narrowed it down to a few random boxes.

Eventually, I opted for a box of 1988 Score baseball packs.  The box has 36 packs, and as many of you know this was Score’s debut set.  The packs were packaged in a clear plastic versus foil or wax paper, and you can see the top card on each pack if you focus your attention towards it.

Here is my buy:

100_0258

The box is a bit tattered, but the packs are more than fine.

In addition to that, the bottom of the box features four cards…

100_0259

And wouldn’t you know that I got one with Andre Dawson on it!  And Darryl Strawberry and Rickey Henderson too.

Here is a look at the opened box:

100_0260

And here is a stack of some of the packs…

100_0261

As for what I am going to do now, I am not quite sure.

While I don’t need all of these cards in my collection, and I have no desire to build this set, I am excited to rip into some of them.

Maybe I will give a few to my boys.  And maybe I will offer up a few of them on my blog.

Time will tell.  But, I can guarantee that when I rip into them, I will share the cards with you right here.

Thanks for reading.

8 responses to “Baseball Card Show Purchase #8 – Box Of 1988 Score Baseball Cards – YESSIR!!!

  1. You can’t go wrong with buying a 1988 Score wax box! Great pictures, great design, great borders, full of HOF players and a sweet Tom Glavine RC!

  2. Nice! I’d love to open a box of an early ’80s Score release one day.

  3. Whoa!! that’s a CRAZY price!!!! You should have bought more!!!

  4. Awesome purchase! Nothing like tearing into packs! Thx for the ones you sent my way!

Leave a Reply

