Mike Schmidt 2014 Topps Archives – Base – ‘BATTING CAGE CARD’

Mike Schmidt 2014 Topps Archives – Base

If you know me, you know that I love myself a ‘Batting Cage Card’.

For me, there is something about seeing the player work on his craft that gets me excited.  And when captured in photos, and even better when used on a baseball card, I am all over it.

This year’s Archives set features Mike Schmidt on the checklist, and he is matched up with the 1986 Topps baseball card design.

And the backdrop of the card?  A batting cage!

Have a look:

img495

 

Schmidt was a monster in 1986, capturing his third MVP Award.  My guess is that he spent a lot of time in the cage that season perfecting his craft.

His numbers:  .290 batting average, .390 on-base percentage, 160 hits, 29 doubles, 37 home runs, 97 runs scored, 119 RBI, 305 total bases, and he was walked intentionally 25 times.

MONSTER!!!

Leave a Reply

