Giancarlo Stanton 2014 Topps Archives – Base – 1980 Topps Design, But L-A-Z-Y!!!

Giancarlo Stanton 2014 Topps Archives – Base – 1980 Topps Design,
But L-A-Z-Y!!!

You know me, I am a sucker for the baseball card designs that littered my youth.  Those designs that were the centerpiece of my enjoyment as a kid collecting baseball cards still hold fond memories for me today.

That is one of the main reasons that I enjoy the Topps Archives theme as much as I do.  And while Topps continues to push vintage design into more and more modern releases, Archives is an entire set dedicated to baseball card eras of the past.

But, the checklists are minimal – and they feature both legends from the past as well as stars of today.  Thankfully, Giancarlo Stanton is a star and he has made his way into each base set of Archives for the last three years/releases.

Here is his card from the 2014 product.  It features the 1980 Topps design – a true classic!

img444

 

I love it, and I happily add it to my Stanton PC.  I also immediately set my sights on both the Gold and Silver versions of the same card as I chase the rainbow.

And now, on to the L-A-Z-Y part.

Just two short seasons ago, Stanton was inserted into the 2012 Topps Archives set.  And that set also featured the 1980 Topps design.  And Giancarlo was one of fifty players dumped into that part of the set.

Here is that card:

Stanton 2012 Archives

For me, the repeat of the 2014 Archives card is just too much.  With four possible destinations for his card, why repeat?  Why not shift him into another, new, design, like 1973 or 1986?  There is nothing else to say except that this was a lazy effort by Topps.  In 2012 it was fine – it was accepted and it was enjoyed.  In 2014 it is quickly collected and then forgotten…

Give us originality – Don’t make us yawn!!

2 responses to “Giancarlo Stanton 2014 Topps Archives – Base – 1980 Topps Design, But L-A-Z-Y!!!

  1. 2014 Topps Archives with a 1980 design = ZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZ

Leave a Reply

