I Found This Pretty Neat Collectible And I Ripped It Open!!

I Found This Pretty Neat Collectible And I Ripped It Open!!

While shopping at Target this weekend, I made my way to their small, but crammed, trading card aisle.  As usual, the area holding the sports cards was unkept and a mess.

Still, I dug in to see if anything caught my eye.  I have not purchase a lot of new products lately through retail – the last was a blaster of Gypsy Queen right after the release.  So, I was hoping to find something neat and new that would get me excited.

And I did.

But, it was not resting on a shelf – it was hanging on a peg.

It was a 2014 Topps NL All-Star Team set.  And it featured a clear, plastic shell allowing me access to see the top card.  A card of Mr. Bryce Harper.

So, I examined it to see what the story was as I had not seen this kind of set before.  And then I took it to one of those self-scan price check machines – $4.99.  I was sold.

I bought the set.  Here it is:

100_0263

An it has a pretty deep, 17-card checklist, though not all of these players actually made the squad this season…

100_0264

The cards are the same as the cards from Series 1 and Series 2, but they have a neat NL All-Star logo right above the team logo.

And after much deliberation, I decided to rip the package open.  Why?  Because the set has four of the current players that I collect included, and a search on Ebay for these singles did not net me any positive results.

For $4.99, I added cards to four of my player collections:

img585

And now I have all of these ‘extras’ to enjoy as well!!

img586 img587 img588

I’s say that was a good $4.99 spent.  And to get technical, my wife has a Target credit card so she saved 5% with the purchase so the set actually cost me $4.74 or $0.28 per card.

Not too bad, huh?!?!?

 

5 responses to “I Found This Pretty Neat Collectible And I Ripped It Open!!

  1. If you’re looking to get rid of the Ryan Braun in that set, I’d be happy to take it off your hands and try to work out a trade. Let me know!

  2. Not bad at all! Good eyes and a great snag, B. Let me know if you’re up for trading the Freeman & Kimbrel, my friend.

  3. Good deal getting 4 cards for your PC collections. You should have no problem getting rid of the other cards.

  4. Awesome. I love unexpected parallels like these.

Leave a Reply

