Joe Morgan 2014 Topps Allen & Ginter – Base

Joe Morgan 2014 Topps Allen & Ginter – Base

Yes, I understand that Allen & Ginter is not supposed to give us baseball cards featuring explosive action or packed with dramatic imagery.

But, the recycling of the same images that have been used of players for years is making this brand quite stale, in my opinion.

I’ve seen this image of Joe Morgan used way too many times, and now A&G blesses us with it again.  Does the image meet the normal A&G criteria?  Yes.  But for a collector that has over 300 unique Joe Morgan baseball cards in his collection, it bores the hell out of me.  Surely there are more than 4-5 posed portraits of Morgan that exist that Topps can use, right?

Is the image a decent one?  Sure.  But after being used so many times, it is getting to the point where collecting ‘Action Only’ cards may be the wave of my future.

Here is the 2014 Topps Allen & Ginter card of Mr. Morgan:

img610

 

Again, it is a nice card, but it is a tired image.  If I had any desire to go through my Morgan PC and pull each on that featured this specific shot, I may be able to grab more than a half-dozen.  But, I don’t have that kind of energy right now…

Leave a Reply

