4,192

4,192

I want this to be the number on my paycheck.  I want this to be the number of Andre Dawson baseball cards that I own.  Hell, I would even take this number as a lottery prize.

Instead, I count this number as the single greatest individual accomplishment in baseball!!!

On this day in 1985, Pete Rose broke the Major League record for most career hits with 4,192.

I remember watching this game live on TV with my dad when I was just 9 years old.  Before the Internet and before Sportscenter became a mainstream media outlet, people tuned into games like this to witness history.  Both my dad and I joined the packed stadium and gave Rose a standing ovation as he became the greatest hitter baseball had ever seen.

Happy Anniversary to ‘Charlie Hustle’!!!

Leave a Reply

