Daily Archives: November 1, 2014

Bryce Harper 2014 Topps Chrome – Base

Bryce Harper 2014 Topps Chrome – Base

My shipment of singles from the 2014 Topps Chrome baseball card set has finally come in and with it comes another card of Bryce Harper for my collection.

Have a look:

img033

 

I really like the look that the Chrome product offers, and it appears that Topps has improved how these are produced as they cards no longer bow in the middle.

The colors on this card are amazingly sharp, and I really like how prominently the Washington Nationals logo in the lower-left corner stand out!

Maybe I’ll be able to grab a few parallel versions of this Harper card in the future.  If the opportunity presents itself, I will give it a shot!

Cal Ripken Jr. 1992 Score All-Star

Cal Ripken Jr. 1992 Score All-Star

Baseball caricatures became all of the rage in the late 1980’s.

I know that I had a few t-shirts that sported some of my favorite players likenesses on them.  And I believe that I had a pennant or two as well.

Well, Score took it to another level in 1992 when they inserted an All-Star set in their 1992 flagship set that honored the best players in the game.

This is the card of Cal Ripken from that set:
img846

 

Certainly deserving of a spot on the checklist, this card of Cal is super.  I love the details, and even more, I love the fact that I absolutely recognize the caricature as #8.

Oh, and I really like the background too – having a ‘real’ group of seated fans makes the card come to life just a tad bit more…

Nicely done by Score.

1975 Topps Set Card 305/660 – #111 – Wayne Garrett, Mets

1975 Topps Set Card 305/660 – #111 – Wayne Garrett, Mets

Progress: 305/660

Card Number:  111

Player Name:  Wayne Garrett

Team:  New York Mets

Position:  3rd Base

Image Style:  Posed Portrait

Years In The Major Leagues: 16 seasons, 1971-86

Notes From His 1975 Season:  Garrett played in 107 games for the Mets in 1975.  Garrett hit .266 during those contests as he connected for 73 hits in 274 at-bats.  Of his 73 hits, Garrett amassed 8 doubles, 3 triples, and 6 home runs.  He drove in 34 runs on the year while also scoring 49 times.

Notes From Career:  Wayne Garrett played for the New York Mets and the Montreal Expos during his 10-year major league career.  He is a lifetime .239 hitter with 786 career hits in 1,092 games played.  Garrett is a member of the 1969 World Series champion Mets.

111

Happy Birthday Fernando Valenzuela!!!

Happy Birthday Fernando Valenzuela!!!

Today is Fernando Valenzuela’s 54th Birthday!!!

So here is a ‘Happy Birthday’ cheer for a man who captivated the sport of baseball and the city of Los Angeles when he debuted as a major league player in 1981.  I firmly believe that if it wasn’t for Fernando and the ‘Fernando-Mania’ that followed as he became a baseball star, there would be fewer Latin players in the sport today.  Of all of the Latin players that have been in the league since 1980, Valenzuela’s impact on the sport and in the Latin sports culture should be recognized as the greatest.

Fernando pitched in the big leagues for 17 seasons.  He has a career record of 173-153, with a career-high 21 wins coming in 1986.  He has a lifetime ERA of 3.54 and he struck out 2,074 batters in 2,930 innings of work.

Valenzuela is a 6-time All-Star, a Gold Glove winner, a Silver Slugger winner, a Cy Young Award winner, and a Rookie Of The Year Award winner.  He is also a member of the 1981 World Series Champion LA Dodgers.

Happy Birthday Fernando!!!  You are a true inspiration!!!

Florida Marlins 1998 Topps Gallery Team Set

Florida Marlins 1998 Topps Gallery Team Set

The Topps Gallery brand is one that I have always liked and hoped that Topps continued to produce.

Of the cards that I have picked up of vintage players on modern designs, the Topps Gallery product stands tall.  The cards are unique, and they offer a nice, artsy look and feel to them.

A few weeks ago, when I started shopping for more Marlins team sets to add to my collection, I purposely set out to find an Ebay seller that had complete Marlins team sets from the Topps Gallery brand.  My search did not net me too many results to shop from, but I was able to score this team set from their 1998 release:

img014

 

While this product is not as nice as some of the other Gallery issues that came after, it still does offer that Gallery vibe.

Personally, I enjoy the Gallery product when the cards offer images that are a bit more zoomed in and detailed.

Still, a neat set for my team set project.  That Livan Hernandez card, in the upper-right corner, is SWEET!