Jim Palmer 2014 Topps Heritage ‘Baseball Flashbacks’

Jim Palmer 2014 Topps Heritage ‘Baseball Flashbacks’

I was very excited to see that one of my favorite pitchers of all-time, Mr. Jim Palmer, had a card in this year’s Topps Heritage release.

His card is part of the ‘Flashbacks’ subset that honors great moments from 1965 – both baseball and non-baseball.

And Palmer sure did have a great year in 1965!!!  Not only did the 19-year old make his debut in the major leagues in 1965, but in 27 games of action, including 6 starts, Palmer solidified his place in the rotation for the following season.  In his 27 appearances, Palmer went 5-4 in 95 innings of work while amassing an ERA of 3.72.

This card pays homage to Palmer notching his first career win in 1965, a victory over the Yankees.  Palmer hit a home run in the game, the first of his career!

img088

 

I LOVE IT!!!

4 responses to “Jim Palmer 2014 Topps Heritage ‘Baseball Flashbacks’

  1. This is one of the best Palmer cards that I’ve seen in awhile! Can’t wait to get one myself!

  2. What a great card! I know that Topps has recycled it a few times but I will never tire of seeing it – especially with the bright, retro-feeling color scheme of this year’s “Flashback” insert set. It is a subset I will be collecting for sure.

Leave a comment