Daily Archives: October 19, 2014

Wade Boggs 1987 O-Pee-Chee

Wade Boggs 1987 O-Pee-Chee

I recently added this card to my Wade Boggs collection.

img674

 

It should look familiar to you as it is the exact same as Boggs’ card from the 1987 Topps baseball card set – with one lone difference (on the front).

Yep, that sweet O-Pee-Chee logo has replaced the Topps logo.

 

Reggie Jackson 2005 Upper Deck SP Authentic

Reggie Jackson 2005 Upper Deck SP Authentic

WOW!

Look at that smooth and power-packed swing by Reggie on this shot used for his 2005 Upper Deck SP Authentic baseball card:

 

img478

 

Full of power and speed, Reggie could mash with the best of them!

This card is neat in that the colors work well together.  However, I do find all of the random graphic elements to be a bit of a distraction.  I like the border on the left side, and the nameplate is fine (though a bit irregular).  The part that disturbs me is the graphic that runs horizontally right behind Reggie.  What is that supposed to be?  Personally, I would have liked to have seen a muted backdrop of Yankee Stadium behind #44 – keep it light and clean allowing Reggie’s image to stand out and be the centerpiece.

Instead, I feel like I am looking at an ink-blot, trying to find the butterfly…

Dave Winfield 1988 Topps Glossy All-Star Send In

Dave Winfield 1988 Topps Glossy All-Star Send In

Here is another card from the 1988 Topps All-Star send-in set that I have scored for my vintage player collection.  This time around, the card features Dave Winfield.

img729

 

Winfield was a monster during the 1980’s.  An All-Star in nine straight seasons from 1980-88, Winfield was a staple at the All-Star Game during the decade, and rightfully so.  He did not play in 1989, but from 1980-88, Winfield had seven seasons of at least 150 hits, eight seasons of at least 20 home runs, six seasons of at least 100 RBI, along with six Gold Glove Awards and five Silver Sluggers.

He definitely belongs in this set.  And in any other All-Star set issued in the 1980’s.

A great addition to my Dave Winfield player collection!

1975 Topps Set Card 293/660 – #495 – Nelson Briles, Royals

1975 Topps Set Card 293/660 – #495 – Nelson Briles, Royals

Progress: 293/660

Card Number:  495

Player Name: Nelson Briles

Team:  Kansas City Royals

Position:  Pitcher

Image Style: Posed Pitching

Years In The Major Leagues: 14 seasons, 1965-78

Notes From His 1975 Season:  Nelson Briles appeared in 24 games for the Royals in 1975, making 16 starts.  He went 6-6 on the year with 3 complete games and 2 saves.  Briles worked 112 innings in ’75, allowing 127 hits and 60 runs en route to a 4.26 ERA.

Notes From Career:  Nelson Briles is a career 129-112 pitcher with 14 seasons under his belt.  He has a career ERA of 3.44 and struck out 1,163 batters in 2,111 innings of work.  Briles won two World Series rings – 1 as a member of the 1967 Cardinals and 1 as a member of the 1971 Pirates.

495

Did You Know…

The Opening Day starting pitcher for the Arizona Diamondbacks in their inaugural baseball games as a major league franchise was Andy Benes.

Andy Benes

Bryce Harper 2014 Panini Elite Series 2

Bryce Harper 2014 Panini Elite Series 2

The release of this set of cards must have escaped me as I had no idea this set was released.  It was a shopping venture on Sportlots.com that provided me with the news – and that means that the release was made of the set at least a few weeks prior to my purchase.

Anyway, I grabbed a small stack of cards from this 2014 Panini Elite Series 2 set.  All of the cards feature my modern PC guys.

And the first card I am ready to show off to you is of Nationals superstar, and 30-YOC favorite, Bryce Harper.

Check it out:

img036

 

The style of the card is nice.  It has a very royal feel to it.  I like the ‘Elite’ logo and I really like how they used the same ‘E’ from ‘Elite’ in the background of the card, yet still allow for the player’s image to be the main feature.

You like?

I’ll show you some more of my buys from this issue over the next few weeks.  I think, like this card of Harper, that you will like them too.

Stay tuned.