Daily Archives: October 28, 2014

Jose Fernandez 2014 Topps Allen & Ginter – Mini Base

Jose Fernandez 2014 Topps Allen & Ginter – Mini Base

I’m not going to spend too much time on this one…

img607

 

This is the Base mini card of Jose Fernandez from the 2014 Topps Allen & Ginter set.

I have not picked up too many parallels of my PC guys from the 2014 Topps Allen & Ginter set as of yet as most of what I am seeking is too costly for my liking.

Maybe in time I will add a few more cards to my collection of Jose Fernandez from this 2014 A&G set, but if not I am OK where I have left off…

Wade Boggs 1994 Topps Gold ‘Measures Of Greatness’

Wade Boggs 1994 Topps Gold ‘Measures Of Greatness’

Another fantastic baseball card design and theme that I am encountering for the very first time with this card of Hall of Famer, Wade Boggs.

Have a look:

img668

 

This card comes from the 1994 Topps Gold ‘Measure Of Greatness’ set.  I really like all of the stats piled into the background of the card and the Light Blue coloring of the backdrop allows for the player’s image to really come to life.

Wade Boggs certainly belongs in a set like this, as he was definitely one that could be measured against when discussing ‘Greatness’.

I LIKE IT!!!

Reggie Jackson 1986 Fleer Star Stickers

Reggie Jackson 1986 Fleer Star Stickers

During a recent shopping spree on Sportlots.com, I snagged a small stack of 1980’s Fleer stickers.

Last week, I showed you the Dave Winfield sticker from the 1986 set.  And now, I have the Reggie Jackson sticker from the same issue for you to enjoy.

Have a look:

img397

 

Again, since these were treated as ‘special’ or ‘limited’, I wish that the companies creating them gave us something more special with the images that they selected for the product.

Overall, the sticker design is nice, but if it had been capped off with a better image of #44, it could have gone from good to great rather quickly…

Just sayin’

1975 Topps Set Card 301/660 – #248 – Randy Jones, Padres

1975 Topps Set Card 301/660 – #248 – Randy Jones, Padres

Progress: 301/660

Card Number:  248

Player Name:  Randy Jones

Team:  San Diego Padres

Position:  Pitcher

Image Style:  Posed Pitching

Years In The Major Leagues: 10 seasons, 1973-82

Notes From His 1975 Season:  Randy Jones made 37 appearances for the Padres in 1975, 36 of them being starts.  He put together a 20-12 record on the season with 18 complete games and 6 shutouts.  He had a league-low 2.24 ERA over 285 innings of work.  Jones was and All-Star in 1975 while also finishing in 2nd place for the Cy Young Award.

Notes From Career:  Randy Jones has a 100-123 career record.  He played for two teams over his 10-season career, and retired with a 3.42 ERA.  Jones pitched 1,933 innings during his career while striking out 735 batters and walking 56.  He is a 2-time All-Star selection and was the winner of the 1976 Cy Young Award.

248

Card #300 In My 1975 Topps Set Build Is Reason To Celebrate!!!

Card #300 In My 1975 Topps Set Build Is Reason To Celebrate!!!

Sure, it may not be a landmark percentage of the set, but 300 is a very nice, round number and one that I am excited about reaching.

Card #300 was reached yesterday in my build, and not only was it the 300th card that I have picked up for my 1975 Topps set build, but it was also card #300 from the set – literally, it was the Reggie Jackson card!

And yes, I kind of held onto that one for a few weeks just so I could squeeze it in this way and make it a tad more memorable.

Cheers to #300.

300

I am ready for the next milestone to come my way.