Happy Birthday Mickey Mantle!!

Happy Birthday Mickey Mantle!!

Today we celebrate Mickey Mantle’s birthday.

And while I am way too young too pass around first-hand stories about watching ‘The Mick’  roam around center field for the New York Yankees, I do have the next best thing.  You see, my dad is from the Bronx and spent much of his youth with his older brother in and around Yankee Stadium.  Back when baseball was the sport of choice for America’s youth, my dad and uncle and thousands of other kids around the New York area worshiped Mickey Mantle.

The stories that have been shared with me are priceless.  Sneaking into the stadium or ditching classes early to catch playoff games on the radio.  And the players that they got to see and follow are as historic as they get, with Mickey Mantle leading the way!!!

So on this day, the entire ’30-YOC’ family wishes Mr. Mickey Mantle a Happy Birthday!!!

Leave a comment