‘On The Road With psuGator02′ – Mark McGwire – February 19, 2011

‘On The Road With psuGator02′ – Mark McGwire – February 19, 2011

Saturday, February 19
9:45 a.m.-1:45 p.m.
Roger Dean Stadium
Jupiter, Fla.

Looked like it was going to be your typical day of graphing the Cardinals-Marlins, but something happened before I drove back South that I’ll be able to tell the nieces and nephews (the gf and I don’t plan on having children) about. You’ll have to read the whole thing to find out what happens at the end 🙂

I knew Cardinals’ workouts didn’t begin until 10 a.m. and I knew that the Cardinals wouldn’t sign going in and that the Marlins wouldn’t even be at the stadium until later (their workout would be until 3 p.m. because of FanFest) so I got to sleep relatively late for once (if you call 7:30 a.m. late). Abacoa was hosting an arts festival, meaning the street parallel to first base was closed. To get to the backfields every fan had to be shuttled, six at a time, through the player parking lot via golf carts. You were dropped off at the gate, then shuttled again to the backfields. I guess fans are no longer allowed to walk from the entrance to the backfields on their own for fear of players being accosted.

Was shut out almost the entire day until workouts ended and Mark McGwire shouted that he would sign “over there,” as he pointed to the gate on Field 2 between home and first base that he could open. I had been standing in that spot but had left a few minutes earlier to get Skip Shumacher. I ran to the spot where McGwire was going to sign and was now behind about 40 people. Had I stayed there to begin with I would’ve been right in front and been able to dip. I was able to get McGwire anyway even though I had to push a little bit and take advantage of my large wingspan. It also helped that I had an oddball item that he noticed. I was a little afraid that the graph might smear or smudge in the melee. But McGwire really took his time with it.

Mark McGwire: 1/1 (baseball book I’ve been lugging around for more than 15 years) in blue Sharpie. He even signed in his car in the player lot, but I had decided to grab lunch (there’s the food theme again LOL)
Dennis Martinez: Only upon driving home did I realize that I did, in fact, have another item (a book) for him to sign. Guess I’ll just get him tomorrow. Great guy as usual. Some graphers actually followed him to the bathroom, then got him when he finished his business. I just hope it wasn’t a No. 2
Red Schoendienst: 0/1, 0/1, 0/1..I followed the movements of his golf cart three or four times, but he never would come over
Skip Schumakermacher: Said he was going to sign and he did. Only bad part is that he signed at the exact same time as McGwire. And we all know that McGwire won that argument. Dude is a strict 1-per, too, if you can believe that LOL
Robert Stock: He said he was going to sign, but I was more interested in some of the other, more established players. I’ll get him tomorrow
David Freese: signed a lot, but I didn’t need him
Allen Craig: signed a lot, but I didn’t need him
Nick Punto: signed a lot, but I didn’t need him
Adam Wainwright: I was at another field and missed him. Was doing 3- and 4-per. Oh well
Tony LaRussa: he signed for a bunch of people. But to get him I would’ve had to run over to his field. I’ve gotten him so many times over the years, though, that I didn’t feel like doing that. The next time I get him it will be with the “HOF” inscription
J.W. Porter: One of the nicest former players I’ve ever met. Shook his hand and had a long talk. The guy caught Bob Gibson’s first MLB victory and played with Satchel Paige. He told me he turned 78 on Jan. 17. Oddly enough, I turned 39 on Jan. 22 LOL

One response to “‘On The Road With psuGator02′ – Mark McGwire – February 19, 2011

  1. Not a Big Mac fan at all, but congrats! He’s a tough one to get ….
    I’ll have to look up J.W. Porter. You mentioned Gibson & Paige in the same sentence! Im interested in Satchel Paige, his career & the history behind the man.

    – Good job Gator02

Leave a comment