Daily Archives: August 9, 2012

My George Foster Player Collection Is Complete!!!

My George Foster Player Collection Is Complete!!!

Friends, I am here to tell you that another player collection has been completed.

And I am thrilled to tell you that the player we’re talking about is former NL MVP, Mr. George Foster.

Foster was an integral part of the ‘Big Red Machine’.  His ability to drive in runs with one mighty swing of the bat was a perfect addition to a line-up that featured high-quality hitters and runners.

Foster’s greatest success at the plate came right after the team’s two consecutive World Series titles, but he was a key cog in both championship seasons as well.

I am very excited about this one.  It is a perfect addition to the collection I am building that honors my favorite baseball dynasty.

Here is the full collection:

And like I do with all of my newly completed player collection, I will showcase my ‘Fab Five’ for you starting next Monday.

Stay tuned.  And thanks for reading!!

Jim Palmer 2011 Topps Tribute

Jim Palmer 2011 Topps Tribute

As a collector trying to build up a set that honors the incredible career of Jim Palmer, I find myself getting very behind in that quest.

Not only is he part of a lot of 2012 checklists, but Palmer was also featured quite a bit in 2011.  And sadly, I did not focus enough in 2011 to take advantage and grab them quickly.

And now I am playing catch-up.

My most recent addition to this collection is the base card from the 2011 Topps Tribute set.

Here is the card:

I need to grab a few more.  But as they say, ‘It All Starts With One’.

Consider this ‘One’.

Jim Abbott 1990 Upper Deck

Jim Abbott 1990 Upper Deck

Upper Deck was known for their superior quality of baseball cards; especially compared to the competition.

Their debut in 1989 took the hobby by storm.

And in my opinion, their 1990 and 1991 issues did not offer enough change from the debut set.

The graphics were similar, and the card backs were too close to the original.

And while the photography and cardstock were still top-notch, a bad picture snuck in every once in a while.

Case in point, Jim Abbott’s 1990 card.

Have a look:

My First Time – Robin Yount – April 5, 1974

My First Time – Robin Yount – April 5, 1974

The Setting – County Staidum.  Milwaukee, WI.

From Yount – ‘The Brewers had a tradition of bringing their first round picks to Spring Training, but it was supposed to be a formality.  I very shocked when they told me that I had made the team’.

The Boxscore – Red Sox 9, Brewers 8.  Yount goes 0-for-1 with a walk.

Happy Birthday Deion Sanders!!!

Happy Birthday Deion Sanders!!!

Deion Sanders turns 45 years old today.

The guy that they called ‘Prime Time’ was a joy to watch.  And while he was ultimately a better professional football player than baseball player, Deion was still entertaining nonetheless.

With a major league career that lasted 9 seasons, Deion’s career was based on his greatest attribute – Speed!

Sanders collected 159 stolen bases during his playing days.  Usually hitting at the top of the line-up, his skills allowed for him to score 308 runs in 641 games.

A member of the Braves, Reds, Yankees, and Giants, Deion had the charisma and flare to excite crowds and bring people to the ballpark.  And if memory serves me properly, he was also a good football player too.

Happy Birthday ‘Prime Time’!!!  And congratulations on your Pro Football Hall of Fame induction too!

Jaret Wright, The Tour Guide

Jaret Wright, The Tour Guide

‘Alright everyone, my name is Jaret and I will be your tour guide.

Now, before we begin, there are a few safety rules that I have to mention.  First rule, you must keep your hands and feet inside this golf cart at all times.  Secondly, kids cannot sit at the end of any row.  Rule number three is that you must remain seated at all times and can only stand when the cart has come to a complete stop.  And lastly, if you lose anything do not make any attempts to retrieve it yourself – simply let me know what you have dropped and the approximate location as we have relievers here that can assist you.

Now, get your cameras ready.  Let’s check out Jacobs Field.’

This is my submission for the contest being held at Nachos Grande.