Me & ‘Crazy Eddie’

Me & ‘Crazy Eddie’

We all had that one friend when we were younger.  He was the one that your parents really wish that you didn’t hang out with so much.  They kind of winced when his name was mentioned.

For me, that friend was ‘Crazy Eddie’.

Of course, ‘Crazy Eddie’ was not the name on his birth certificate – it was Edgar.  But I grew up knowing him as ‘Crazy Eddie’ and I never really questioned why or how he earned that moniker.

But, it certainly could have been for his antics.

And while they were never mean-spirited, they were certainly a bit on the reckless side.

‘Crazy Eddie’ is the guy that taught me how to burn ants with a magnifying glass.

He was the only kid I knew that could successfully shove all 36 sticks of gum from a box of Topps baseball cards into his mouth at one time and not gag or have to spit them all out.

‘Crazy Eddie’ is the first person that I ever ‘toilet-papered’ a house with.  He is also the first person that I ever pulled down all of the toilet paper with due to us being caught.

I remember one time when he convinced me to ride my bike right into the neighborhood pool in our subdivision.  He reasoned that it was raining outside and that ‘you can only get so wet’….

And then there was the time that he took me to Old Man Davis’ place with the goal of lighting a paper bag filled with dog poop on fire.  He was convinced that we were fast enough to place the bag of doggie-poo on Old Man Davis’ front doorstep, light it on fire, run across the street, jump into the bushes and enjoy the show.  Well, when I tell you that we chuckled and giggled during the long walk to Old Man Davis’ place – we really had trouble controlling ourselves as we got closer.  He told me that he would take the lead and that I just needed to watch for lights turning on both in Old Man Davis’ house and on both sides too.

True to his word, ‘Crazy Eddie’ did most of the work as I played ‘sentry’.  He placed the bag of doggie-doo right in front of Old Man Davis’ door.  He bent down and lit the top of the bag on fire.  As soon as it caught fire, he quickly pressed his index finger into the doorbell and bolted off of the doorstep.

That is when I snapped this picture:

LMAO!!!

This is my submission into Round 3 of the contest being held at ‘Nachos Grande’.  I hope I entertained you.  If so, please consider voting for me in this contest; voting should begin sometime on Friday and I would really appreciate your vote.

Thank you!

Leave a comment