30-Year Old Cardboard’s “Ultimate Dawson” Collection Featured In Beckett Sports Card Monthly!!!!

30-Year Old Cardboard’s “Ultimate Dawson” Collection Featured In Beckett Sports Card Monthly!!!!

What can I say?  I am very proud and extremely humbled right now.

My Andre Dawson collection of baseball cards, autographs, and memorabilia is being featured in the August 2012 issue of Beckett Sports Card Monthly.  I have been tabbed as a ‘Super Collector’ for the collection I have built of Andre Dawson.

This collection is so personal to me and it has been such a thrill to build it and share it over the years with the great readers of this blog.

I have been an Andre Dawson fan since I was seven years old – and almost thirty years later, I still have vivid memories of watching him rule the outfield, hustle around the bases, and swing his mighty bat.  Sure, other players may have been more talented than ‘The Hawk’ but nobody out-worked him.  His loyalty  and love for the sport of baseball is the same as the loyalty and love that I have poured into being a fan of his.

Each and every card that I have picked up is special to me – and I take them all on as if they were the most rare treasure in the baseball card universe.  Yes, I like other players.  Yes, I collect other players.  But, it is and has always been Andre Dawson for me.

And to think that my collection is worth showcasing in this manner is beyond me.  Still, my chill-bumps are present.

Without further ado:

Page 36 of August’s Beckett Sports Card Monthly

What an honor.  What a thrill.  My wife was even impressed!!!

🙂

I owe a few ‘Thank Yous’ for this:

Thank you to Chris Olds and the Beckett team for selecting me for this honor, and for putting together this fabulous spread.

Thank you to reader Matt for thinking that my collection was cool enough to even be considered for this.

Thank you to reader Gerad for your constant loyalty to me and this blog – it was your final push that made me press the ‘Send’ button on my submission email to Beckett.

And most of all, ‘Thank You’ to Andre Dawson.  As it relates to sports heroes, you have been a fantastic one.  There are not many fans that can say that their sports heroes have never let them down, or ruined a moment for them.  But I proudly can!!  The way that you played the game was the way it was meant to be played.  They way that you conduct yourself off the field is solid example for how any one tagged as a ‘celebrity’ should conduct themselves.  And the times that we have had the chance to meet in person, you have been nothing short of wonderful to both me and my family.

Thank You Hawk!!!!

17 responses to “30-Year Old Cardboard’s “Ultimate Dawson” Collection Featured In Beckett Sports Card Monthly!!!!

  1. Very cool indeed. Can’t wait to get my Beckett!!!

  2. Pingback: Anonymous

  3. This is just terrific! Clearly the pinnacle for any collector is to have recognition bestowed by others in the hobby for the hard work and passion poured into the pursuit, whatever that pursuit might be.

    And when the “others” refers to the hobby stalwart, Beckett Sports Card Monthly and the recognition is a full page spread in their magazine for all in our wonderful hobby to see – well, it just doesn’t get any better than that!

    Congratulations, my friend. Enjoy the praise because you certainly deserve it!

    I can’t wait to read the post where the Hawk signs a copy of this article….here’s to the next 1,000 Andre’s!

    – Ryan’s Pitch

  4. Brian, this is super! As a kid & even a late teenager I often wished I could make Beckett magazine. So I know how you must feel.
    Your Dawson collection has definatelt caught some eyes & attention. Great Job!
    I hope that Dawson himself gets a copy of this Beckett to see how loyal of a fan you are.
    Keep blogging & collecting. God bless baseball!

  5. Dude, that’s awesome!

    moe.

  6. Congrats Brian! Quite the accomplishment. Now we have something else in common other than being Hawk fans. I had a top ten card list published in Beckett when I was in college.

  7. Anthony O'Neill

    Very awesome!! Congrats!!!

  8. Congrats! That is awesome!!

  9. You deserve it! Awesome man!

  10. So cool, congrats Brian!

  11. Congratulations from a new follower and trading partner!

  12. That is great Brian. I am very happy for you. Every time I see the State Farm commercial with Mr. Dawson, I think of you.

  13. Congrats on the awesome accomplishment dude! It’s always nice to get your few seconds of fame, especially in a pretty big magazine like Beckett is.. I got my chance last year to be in and took advantage of the opportunity and I’m glad you did too! Nice job!

  14. Congratulations ! You earned a “Discount Double Check” at Wrigley Field !

    I always liked Andre – so you must be a great representative. May you long enjoy it !

    CHUCKS USED CARDS

  15. Simply AMAZING!

  16. Pingback: Baseball Card Show Purchase #1 – 2 Issues Of Beckett Sports Card Monthly | 30-Year Old Cardboard

Leave a comment