1986 Topps Rickey Henderson

 I never cared for the 1986 Topps issue.  The whole ‘stencil’ look did little for me.  And compared to the previous issue in 1985, the 86’s were not even close.

But, this specific card looks great.  It’s funny how sometimes all it takes is a certain image or color combination to make one card work versus another.  The Black and White contrast, is OK, but what really makes this work is the perfectly placed Grey, Black, and White elements that Rickey’s photo adds to the card.  Trust me, the Tony Gwynn version of this card doesn’t even come close to looking as good as this one…

1 more Rickey card off of my wantlist!! YES!!!

86trh

One response to “1986 Topps Rickey Henderson

  1. One of only 3 cards I need to complete this set. Fortunately, it’s on its way to my mailbox! Thanks for showing it. It’s first time I’ve seen it.

Leave a comment