Wade Boggs Won 2 Gold Glove Awards!!

Wade Boggs Won 2 Gold Glove Awards!!

I get no better joy than watching a player become better right before my eyes.  To see a power hitter become a skill hitter is fun to watch.  To see a pitcher with poor control start to dominate hitters with his finer pitching is what I love to witness.

And to see Wade Boggs become an excellent defender fits into that category too.  While Boggs was in no way considered a poor defender when he debuted with the Red Sox in 1982, he was far from superior in the fielding realm.  And to watch him get better each and every year tought me that even the pros have to work to get better.  I lot can be said about that, and this is one of the reasons that Wade Boggs is one of my favorite players from my youth. 

In 1996 and 1997, Boggs’ 13th and 14th year in the majors, Boggs won the Gold Glove award acknowledging his excellence at defending third base.

The hits landmarks and milestones that Boggs eclipsed are what baseball legends are made of.  The fielding accolades that he accomplished are what heroes are made of!!!

Leave a comment