Chillin’ With “LoMo” Of The Florida Marlins!!!

Chillin’ With “LoMo” Of The Florida Marlins!!!

It’s not very often that I get the chance to grab a few free autographs.  And it is even more rare when I can do that just 5 minutes from my home..

But last night, I got that opportunity, and made the most of it!!!

Logan Morrison, left fielder for the Florida Marlins, was doing a signing at a new pizza restaurant less than 5 minutes from my house.  I saw this advertised on Facebook, and while I never heard any more about it or saw it advertised anywhere else, I figured I would check it out and see if I could add “LoMo’ to my Marlins autograph collection.

The signing was scheduled for 7PM, and he arrived just a few minutes after I did – and 15 minutes early!!!  It’s nice to see that a player understands that fans are waiting as I often hear about, read about, and experience players showing up late for outings just like this one.

In total, I was probably 20th in line, with a crowd of no more than 40.

After a brief 5-6 minute wait, I got my chance to meet Logan and he graciously signed a card for me as well as my helmet.

Here is the helmet, which now boasts 34 Marlins signatures.

And I snuck in a chance for a ‘pic with’ as well…

Thanks again Logan!! 

I am hoping for solid numbers again this season from Morrison.  And while he didn’t get some of the attention that other National League rookies got during the 2010 season, real Marlins fans know that he was a solid contributor for the team’s offense.  In 62 games, he hit .283 while collecting 69 hits.  A strong line-drive hitter, 29 of his 69 hits were for extra bases.  Oh, and he scored 43 runs for ‘The Fish’ too.  Not too shabby for a 23-year old…  Morrison is projected to be the team’s #2 hitter this year and with Hanley Ramirez and Mike Stanton batting behind him, I can see him eclipsing the 100 runs mark this season as long as health is on his side.

Best of luck in 2011 LoMo!!!  You’re on my ‘home’ team and my ‘fantasy’ team too – Go Get ‘Em!!!!

3 responses to “Chillin’ With “LoMo” Of The Florida Marlins!!!

  1. Morrison will be doing a Philly area signing when the Marlins travel here in April. He is doing the signing for a charity in memoriam of a relative. I think it is his father and the charity is Lung Cancer awareness.

    • Paul- His father passed away due to cancer of the offseason. I remember seeing his dad on TV when Logan debuted with the team last year. It was pretty special for both of them. He does a lot locally to raise awareness – a very solid guy!!!

  2. What did he say about your Rocky shirt? LOL

Leave a comment