Daily Archives: June 23, 2012

My Kirby Puckett Player Collection Is Now Complete!!!

My Kirby Puckett Player Collection Is Now Complete!!!

Friends, this was a very fun journey.

As a kid, Kirby Puckett was one of my favorite players.  His style of play was thrilling to watch, and the obvious love for the game that he displayed while on the field made him an infectious player.

It took me quite a long time, but I have finally finished my collection of cards to honor Kirby’s magnificent career.  And I will am still one card short (that costly 1984 Fleer Update card), I have built a set of 99 cards that I feel does his career justice.

Here is a look at the full set:

It is going to be tough to select my five favorite cards from this group, but I will do it.

And starting next Monday, I will begin to unveil my ‘Kirby Puckett Fab Five’ for you.

Thanks for reading.

1999 Topps Florida Marlins Team Set

1999 Topps Florida Marlins Team Set

Time to show off another Florida Marlins team set that I was able to pick up.

This one comes from the 1999 Topps issue, and it has a nice Golden flare to it.

And by flare, I mean border.  And it is Gold in color.  And I like it!!!

By 1999, the Marlins team did not look at all like the squad that won the World Series just two seasons prior.  Still, it was fun to watch the guys play, and they were infused with some young and talented players as a result of all of their trades in ’97 and ’98.

Here is the full set: 

And my favorite card from the set:

I was never a big Mark Kotsay fan, though I did have high expectation s for him after his solid debut with the team in 1998.

What I like most about the card of Kotsay, besides the fact that it offers a fantastic photo, is the way that the Gold Topps Rookie All-Star trophy looks against the border color. 

It really makes the trophy ‘pop’!!!!

Enjoy.

Johnny Bench 2005 Upper Deck Classics – PERFECT!!!

Johnny Bench 2005 Upper Deck Classics – PERFECT!!!

Now this is how you represent a baseball great on a piece of cardboard.

Have a look:

Upper Deck did it right with their 2005 Classics release.  From the simple design to the great choice of player to the perfect photos.

And for this one, they did something to really make that Red coloring pop – it looks fantastic!!!

UP FOR GRABS – Rickey Henderson 2004 Donruss Classics

Rickey Henderson 2004 Donruss Classics

Another of the many cards that I recently bought ‘On The Blind’. 

And this one, while it looks much better than some of the others that I scooped up, just doesn’t do it for me.

I like Rickey Henderson.  And I collect Rickey Henderson baseball cards.  But I do have my preferences, and I prefer Rickey to be wearing his Athletics or Yankees uniform on the cards that I collect…

If you want this card, let me know.  And if there are multiple people who do, I will find a creative way to decide on who gets the goods.

Thanks.

Joe Morgan 2003 Upper Deck Vintage

Joe Morgan 2003 Upper Deck Vintage

I am not certain that Upper Deck has ever come clean about it, but this design from their 2003 Vintage issue is a blatant rip-off of the 1965 Topps baseball card design.

Thankfully, I love that set from ’65 so I am not complaining!!!

Have a look at the card:

I have always been a big fan of the team banner, as a matter of fact, my garage walls are loaded up with them.

So, since I have an affinity for banners, naturally I like to see them displayed on my baseball cards.  And with this set from 2003, and just like the one issued way back in 1965, I am digging it!!!

Great work U.D.!!!