Daily Archives: June 17, 2012

I LOVE My Balls!!!

I LOVE My Balls!!!

Sorry, I couldn’t resist…  LMAO

It has been a very long time since I have shown you my balls.  And I should not have let it go this long.

My balls are very, very special to me and I pay a lot of attention to them.

I have been writing this blog for nearly four years.  When I started, I had just one ball.

Today, I have 85.  Yes, 85 balls!!!

Here is what my balls look like today:

I wish that the picture was able to be zoomed in some more so you could see everything clearly, but I also wanted to show off the whole collection in one picture.

And while I do not normally keep them stacked in this fashion, I wanted you to see the magnitude of my collection all at one time.

Typically, my collection of balls are displayed in three groups – Andre Dawson, Fergie Jenkins, and other.  The Dawson count is at 10; the Jenkins count is 5; and the other count is at 70.

I have plans to add more.  And while 100 is possible by the end of the year, it is not a goal at this point.  I am still seeking quality over quantity so if I add just 4-5 more this year, I would happily accept quality.

Thanks for reading.

I hope you enjoyed looking at my balls – 🙂

 

Ken Griffey Jr. 1990 Topps All-Star Rookie Card

Ken Griffey Jr. 1990 Topps All-Star Rookie Card

Are you kidding me???

Eighteen cents for this card???

This has to be a joke, right???

I mean seriously, how could you pick up a 2nd year baseball card of one of the most well-round and accomplished baseball players of the last thirty years for just eighteen cents??

Got to be something wrong with the card, right???

NOPE – This is not a joke, and the card is flawless.

And it was worth each and every one of those eighteen pennies that I plunked down.

Have a look:

What a find!!!  I’m loving it!!!

Bob Gibson 1991 Kellogg’s Corn Flakes Baseball Greats

Bob Gibson 1991 Kellogg’s Corn Flakes Baseball Greats

It has been way too long since I added a vintage Bob Gibson baseball card to my collection.

And while many, myself included, struggle with calling a card issued in 1991 a ‘vintage’ issue, it is 21+ years old.

And for its age, the card looks pretty good.

Here it is:

My guess is that the card has held up after 21 years much better than the cereal…

🙂

Jim Abbott 1991 Fleer – Where Are All Of The Fans???

Jim Abbott 1991 Fleer – Where Are All Of The Fans???

Jeez, not too many people at the ballpark to see Jim Abbott pitching on that day. huh??

Happy Birthday Dave Concepcion!!!

Happy Birthday Dave Concepcion!!!

Dave Concepcion turns 64 years old today.

Dave Concepcion’s major league career lasted 19 seasons.  And all of them came as a member of the Cincinnati Reds.

A superb defender at shortstop, Concepcion helped anchor one of the most talented infields in all of baseball’s history.  For his incredible defensive efforts, Concepcion won 6 Gold Glove awards in a 7-year span.

A career .267 hitter, he collected 2,326 hits.  Fleet on his feet, Concepcion scored 993 runs for the Reds while also stealing 321 bases.  Other impressive offensive stats include 950 RBI, 389 doubles, 101 home runs, and 48 triples.

Concepcion was named as a National League All-star 9 times.  He also won back-to-back Silver Slugger trophies in 1981 & 1982.

Dave Concepcion’s brilliant play at shortstop along with his speed and ability to get on base helped the Cincinnati Reds win World Series titles in 1975 & 1976.

Happy Birthday Mr. Concepcion!!!

Help Support The Fergie Jenkins Foundation

Help Support The Fergie Jenkins Foundation

In an effort to raise funds for the various charities that they supports, the Fergie Jenkins Foundation will be holding monthly online auctions in which they will be auctioning off baseball memorabilia and autographed items as well as items from other sports.

June 2012 marks the first round of their auctions and you can bid on items like a Clayton Kershaw signed baseball, a Jim Rice signed photo, a Marcus Allen signed football, and a 1994 Rawlings World Series game ball.

All of these items, and more, can be found at http://www.fergiejenkins.ca/site/auction.

Go have a peek.  It is for a worthy cause.

I bet you’ll find something that catches your eye!!!